All the Presses

After yesterday’s horrible workout involving the Devils Tricycle, I was worried to see what they’d throw at us next. Thankfully it turned out to be not as horrible as I was expecting.

We had a ton of people today. Larry got us started and then did the workout with us after Coach Drea got there. Every time I looked up we had a few more bodies. 🙂

1gb5us

I worked with Jonathan. Nick & Caleb worked together. Adrienne (and Jayda) worked with AJ & Mickey. Ev worked with Connie and Sarah. Larry, Todd, and John worked together. Jenny & her daughter worked together. And Melissa worked on her post-surgery rehab. We had people all over the place.

We started with some foam rolling and then shifted to 5 minutes of Cindy. The rig was bouncing with all the pull-ups!

  • AMRAP for 5 mins
  • 5 Pull-Ups
  • 10 Push-Ups
  • 15 Air Squats

I don’t think I was counting, but I got through a round in a little over a minute on average – so I got into the 4th or 5th. It was a great way to jump right into it quickly. Once that was done, it was PVC time – lots of movement reminders with strict press, push press, and push jerk.

Olympic weights

From there we divided up into our little groups and started warming up with an empty barbell, then adding weight a bit at a time before we got going with the WOD.

  • Strict press – 1-1-1-1-1
  • Push press – 3-3-3-3-3
  • Push jerk – 5-5-5-5-5

Drea wanted us to use whatever weight we got up to (starting at 80% and working our way up on the Strict press) as the start of the next set of movements.

Jonathan and I are pretty close on our one rep max for strict press. His is 150#. Mine is 145#. So we worked well together through that series:

  • 120#
  • 125#
  • 130#
  • 135#
  • 145# (10# jump)

It felt pretty good, so I suspect that my 1RM will be going up next time we try it.

So we started at 145# for our push press. We weren’t quite as aggressive on that one.

  • 145# x3
  • 150# x3
  • 150# x3
  • 155# x3
  • 160# x3

And that’s when I started falling apart a bit. My push jerks aren’t nearly as strong as they should be, but they’re getting better. Even so, my wrists were really starting to bug me when we started at 160#. So my sequence looked like:

  • 160# fail x2
  • 135# x5
  • 145# x5
  • 145# x5
  • 145# x5
  • 145# x4 (dropped last one)

I was happy with that. Jonathan did do 160# for quite a few sets before he dropped back to 145# with me. We were both pretty shot at that point.

Here’s an animated GIF of Larry doing one of his push jerks:

output_vqsak3

For shits and giggles, I decided to compute just how much weight we lifted over the course of the workout. Not including the warm-ups at all. I moved 6,635# over the course of the WOD. That’s more than 3 tons. I think I deserve to be tired. 🙂

Meanwhile my daughters were kicking butt. My nearly-12-year-old daughter used 45# for the whole workout. She moved about a ton on her own.

And my nearly 16-year-old daughter maxed out at 70# and moved more than a ton.

I’m not sure what my wife got through, but I’ll update the post when I see her again later today.

Suffice it to say that the Fitzpatrick clan moved a lot of weight today and everybody else did too!! 🙂 Great work everybody!!

Leave a Reply

