The Devil’s Trike Strikes Again

columbia-md_-crossfit-critical-mass_-rest_-day_1-e1388617752161So let’s see how the last few days have gone…

  • Friday was my last day of work right before vacation. I decided that the workout didn’t need me, so I skipped it.
  • Saturday we had a weather event here that left us in the deep freeze with ugly roads in places. So the team workout was canceled. Since I had to actually be alert and able to move that day at another event, I was actually happy it didn’t happen.
  • Sunday we saw Rogue One, watched football, and were generally bumps on a log except for getting some writing done.

Yes, it’s been 4 days since my last workout at the box and I feel guilty. Good thing Monday rolled around to offer an absolutely hellish sprint of a workout to get rid of those feelings…

So I made it in for an 8:30am class with AJ. Coach Bill had us covered. And we were joined by Lyle & Elyse, Jonathan & Sarah, Connie, Larry, Dan, Lisa, and Melissa. It was a huge crew. And it was a good thing it was a short workout. We did three “heats” to get through it all.

and-for-a-warm-up-some-mountain-climbers_o_1678197We started with a 4 round warm-up of:

  • 20 seconds of jumping jacks
  • 20 seconds of med-ball cleans
  • 20 seconds of med-ball push-ups

And then we did a ton of warm-up with an empty barbell. Lots of clean work. Some jerks. Generally just warming up the whole body. Once that was done we warmed up to our working weight and broke up into heats.

Our workout was for time (with a 10 minute time cap):

  • 20 calories on the assault bike
  • 20 clean and jerk #165/110 (Rx), #135/95 (Level II), #95/65 (Level 1)
  • 20 calories on the assault bike

I don’t know about you, but the assault bike is evil. Any piece of equipment that can make my knees burn in only a minute is evil. Jonathan called it the Devil’s Tricycle and we’ve shortened that now to the Devil’s Trike. Ugh. Evil evil.

assault-bike
Evil. Pure evil. The Devil’s Tricycle.

Everybody in the first two heats finished in under the 10 minute time cap. Jonathan managed to get level II done in 5 minutes flat. He was flat on his back afterwards. Lyle managed to do the whole thing Rx in under the time cap. He was flat on his back afterwards. I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to finish, let alone under the time cap.

AJ, Connie, and I went in the last heat.

  • AJ worked with a 35# bar and did the rest of the workout as programmed
  • Connie did 110# (Rx)
  • I did 135# (Level II)

I knew my issues were going to come in the last bout with the assault bike. And they did. My knees were fried. I actually ended up doing 6 or 7 calories with just my arms, leaving my feet off the pedals.

68494126By the time I was struggling on the bike in that last 20 calories, I had Larry, Jonathan, and Bill all encouraging me onward. I was swearing a lot. Bill was not my favorite individual at that point. 🙂 Sorry Bill!! But thank you to everybody who was encouraging me onward.

I thought the clean & jerks would be tougher, but one at a time they weren’t awful.

AJ finished in 9:15. I finished in a couple of seconds under 8 minutes but am calling it 8:00. And Connie finished in 9:51. Everybody really kicked butt. 🙂

So… ugh. I finished and did it in under the time cap. That’s what matters today. 🙂

Great work everybody! It was awesome to see so many familiar faces. 🙂

Leave a Reply

