Strength x3 Day

Yesterday was one frustrating event after another and though I attempted to get into the box for a workout, it didn’t happen. I did manage to get in about a 3.5 mile walk around the neighborhood, which was good. Helped me clear my head anyway.

0511-1005-0201-0040_Black_and_White_Vintage_Cartoon_of_a_Man_Asleep_at_His_Desk_clipart_imageToday I had to survive three meetings before I could escape the gravitational pull of my desk. But when I had the opportunity to do so, I ran like the wind and made it to a Noon workout with Coach Drea. It was just me and Drea today, which is always fun. We kind of chug through a workout and talk the whole time.

I started with another little warm-up 4 round setup…

  • 20 seconds of light dumbbell or kettle bell thrusters
  • 20 seconds of a plank hold (high or low, I chose low)
  • 20 seconds of over the head jumping jacks (like you’re throwing water over your head)

400px-Squats.svgOnce that was done, we talked some about squat mechanics and adjusted mine a bit so I had a bit wider knees and feet to compensate for my lack of hip mobility (better, but not perfect).

And then we moved to the rack with an empty barbell.

The first part of the WOD was:

  • Back squat 3-3-3-3 reps

We mixed in some warm-up sets:

  • empty barbell x3
  • 135# x3
  • 185# x3
  • 225# x3
  • 235# x3 (workout started here)
  • 245# x3
  • 255# x3
  • 265# x3

My 1RM is 295#, so 265# x3 is pretty good. Was heavy, but doable.

2013-thrusters-combined

The second part was thrusters:

  • Thruster 3-3-3-3 reps

I had just done a ton of thrusters at 95# this past Saturday, so I was curious how I’d do today. The answer is – eh.

  • empty barbell x3
  • 95# x3
  • 105# x3
  • 115# x3
  • 125 # x3 (workout started here)
  • 135# x3
  • 145# x2
  • 135# x2

Found myself with a lot of wrist mobility issues the heavier the bar got. Open grip for the front squat part and then full grip for the push press part made a big difference, but I have a lot of work to do there.

l-sit-holdAnd then the L-sits. I don’t have a lot of core stabilization and it turns out that pulling my knees into my chest is damn near impossible. Out of 4 attempts for time, I had one where I tucked my knees up to the sides, not straight in front of me. That was my best one and it only lasted maybe 5 seconds where I shook the whole time.

Honestly I felt pretty good. My squats were pretty upright and I at least got one good attempt out of 4 L-sits on the parallette bars. It was ugly as sin, but I made some attempts. 🙂

Drea and I had a good time chatting through the whole thing and beyond. Thanks for all the help today Drea!

Leave a Reply

