Team WOD Saturday

The past week has been an odd one for me. Last weekend I skipped the team workout because I was not in a good frame of mind (zero to frustrated and angry in 60 minutes or less). I made it to workouts on Monday through Wednesday, had to skip Thursday due to logistical issues (work meetings, appliance delivery), and skipped Friday on principle (and for work issues). That meant 3 days on, 2 days off, it was time for another workout.

1fq1zj

Made it in this morning with my lovely wife for the team workout at 10am. And we were definitely not alone. Coaches Drea and Clare ran the show and we probably had 30 people or so join in the fun. πŸ™‚

It’s been a while since I’ve seen Clare and she commented that it appeared that I’d lost some weight since the last time I’d seen her (I haven’t, but it was a nice compliment). She later even commented that my squats (for my thrusters) looked really good – much better depth than she’d seen from me. So apparently I’m doing something right. πŸ™‚ Thanks Clare! (I’ve never been good at receiving compliments, though I try to give them often. It’s a work in progress.)

We started with some movement review with a PVC pipe, then did some coordinated air squats, push-ups, and jumping jacks, before dividing up into teams of 2 or 3. Ev worked with Kelli & Megan. I worked with Adi. Clare and Drea wandered around keeping us all on track.

2013-thrusters-combined

This was a workout in two parts for teams of 2 (or 3). First we did “Death by” burpees & thrusters (for a max of 20 minutes, though nobody got that far).

  • Min 1
    • 1 burpee
    • 1 thruster (95/65)
  • Min 2
    • 2 burpees
    • 2 thrusters
  • Min 3
    • 3 burpees
    • 3 thrusters
  • ETC….until you get caught by the clock

We could break up the reps however we wanted, but only one person could work at a time. Adi and I split it so he did the burpees and I did the thrusters. We made it into the 10th minute before I ran out of steam on the thrusters. Some teams made it to 11 or 12 minutes, which was awesome.

burpees_m_workoutlabs

Then, still in our teams of 2 or 3, we did 3 rounds of:

  • 30 sit-ups
  • 30 hang cleans (95/65#)
  • 30 double-unders (or 60 singles)
  • 30 overhead squats (95/65#)
  • 30 pull-ups

While one person was doing a non-bar movements (i.e. sit-ups, jump rope, pull-ups), the other would hold onto the bar. Some teams of 3 would have 1 member hold the bar, 1 member do a plank, while the 3rd member would do the movement.

Overhead-squat-1Adi and I changed weights between the hang cleans and the OHS. For the cleans we did 95#. For the OHS we did 65#. I did a lot of single jumps. And I did one round of pull-ups and the other two rounds I did ring rows. We split reps up so we’d each do about 15 of each movement. And it worked fine.

We got done with the whole thing in 27 minutes. My left hand grip went away about halfway through the second round. The forearm just locks up to where hanging on to anything becomes a challenge after a while. During one round when I was supposed to hold the bar, I did a plank hold just to give my grip a break.

Adi does great with the body weight stuff. He really flies through burpees, sit-ups, jump ropes, and pull-ups. He did pretty well at the hang cleans (mine were definitely power cleans, not hang cleans btw). He struggled with the OHS a bit, which is fine. It’s not my best movement either.

But we made it through. That’s 450 reps in the second wave (275 each) and I got through 53 95# thrusters before that fell apart completely. So 325 or so reps in about 37 minutes isn’t bad. Averages out to about 9 reps a minute.

I’m definitely not the fastest guy out there, but I think we did just fine. And great work to everybody else who joined in – it was a fun workout. πŸ™‚

Sounds like we have a busy couple of months leading up to the CrossFit Open 2017 in February as well, so we’ll see how this all shapes up. πŸ™‚

Have a great day, folks!

Leave a Reply

