Odd Combo Today

Morning folks. Usually I skip Wednesdays, but I needed to escape my office (yes, ironic since I work from home). So I went in for a workout with my wife (who managed to high sprain an ankle last night at indoor soccer, so I was glad I was driving)…

reading-the-wod-memeCoach Drea had us under her wing, along with Todd, Jonathan, and Sarah.

We started with a little 500m row (or 2 minutes on the devil’s trike) and then did another 3 round warm-up of:

  • 20 seconds of hollow body rocks
  • 20 seconds of backward lunges
  • 20 seconds of C2B, pull-ups, or ring rows where you hold at the top for 2-3 seconds

Once we were done with that, we laughed our way at pistol progressions (spoiler: mine are awful) before talking about the workout… a 20 minute AMRAP of:

  • 10 C2B pull-ups
  • 20 alternating one-legged squats (pistols)
  • 10 box jumps (36/30″)

Muahahahaha. Three movements I am not fantastic at. 🙂

c2bI went down to a modified level 1:

  • 3-5 good banded C2Bs (and more not-so-good ones)
  • 20 pistols (alternating legs) to a weight bench
  • 10 box jumps to a 20″ box

I actually did quite a few banded C2Bs – some of them were even really high. Drea commented on the fact that a couple looked like they were almost bar muscle-up height. So I might have to try a banded muscle-up at some point.

My pistols were atrocious. But I worked on turning my foot out and tracking the knee a bit better, so maybe I’ll get better at them someday.

And I actually did box jumps today. 20″ I can do pretty easily. 24″ I would have to think about and they’d be very very slow.

That said, I was very impressed by the other folks. Sarah did 30″ box jumps, banded C2B, and actual pistols. Jonathan did 33″ box jumps, banded C2B, and actual pistols. And Todd did actual C2B, 36″ box jumps, and actual pistols. And Ev chugged right along with a few changes despite the ankle sprain.

I probably should have taken today as a rest day but oh well. 🙂 The tops of my shoulders are still sore from the kettle bells on Monday. My hamstrings are angry from deadlifts yesterday. My midsection is feeling the weighted sit-ups from Monday.

I’ll probably still be back tomorrow. 🙂 Great work everybody! You all killed it!

Leave a Reply

