Kettle bell swings and losing my grip

Morning folks. It’s definitely a Monday. Rough weekend, but that means… back to the box for some weight therapy.

Made it in for a 9:30 class after surviving a couple of work meetings. Usually I’d be there for 8:30, but had an extra meeting today so that didn’t fly. Got there in time to see the 8:30 class finish up – a good mix of folks with Adrienne & Jayda, Joe & his wife Anne, Sarah, Vivien, Rich, and Jenny. And everybody was either stretching or laid out on the floor gasping after finishing the workout. Not a good sign. šŸ™‚

Coach Bill was ready for the 9:30 class though – we had Todd & Melissa, Nick, Andrea and her friend Andrea. Started with some foam rolling (not enough) and then a 500m row (or 2 minutes on the devil’s tricycle), plus a brief 3 round metcon – 20 seconds each of air squats, sit-ups, and push-ups.

kettlebell-swing

When all that was done, we warmed up with some kettle bells and talked about kettle bell swings and weighted sit-ups.

The workout today was for time, 50-40-30-20-10 reps of:

  • weighted sit-ups
  • 2/1.5 pood kettle bell swings (70/53#)

I used a 25# plate for the sit-ups and did the kettle-bell swings at 70#, but I knew that was going to be a hell of a thing to get through. 150 reps of 70# kettle bell swings is a ton of work with grip. And sure enough, in the first 50 reps my grip with my left hand was starting to give up.

dfl-dnf-dns

It took me 34 minutes to complete the workout. I was the last person to finish. DFL. But damn that took a lot. By the last 30-45 swings I swear I was holding on to my left hand with my right hand and almost just doing one-armed KBS.

Funny part was I really wanted to quit. But I didn’t look at the clock and Bill never gave me any hint he was going to let me adjust weight. So I just kept going.

My arm is now back to normal. But for a little while it was less than pleased with me.

And now I am quite honestly exhausted. Whatever energy I had is shot. Can hardly wait to see what tomorrow brings…

Thanks Bill and great work everybody! Y’all killed it!

Leave a Reply

