Back to Work

It was good to have a week off for Thanksgiving, but I am glad to be heading back to the routine. The weekend was a weird mix of productivity. I was productive on things I wasn’t planning on getting done and unproductive on the things I was. Oh well.

Quick Macros Update

20130803-190716So I’ve been working on the whole “IIFYM” (If it Fits Your Macros) approach to food over the last month or so. I started at 231 and at one point was down to 227. But over the turkey day holiday I slipped a little – not on turkey day itself, but the day after. Consumed an entire package of Twizzlers at the movies. Oops. With that and some bread, I bounced back up to 229/230. Guess I’m human.

We’ll get back on track this week with tracking and watching calories again. If nothing else, that helps me stay on a more even keel. That and regular workouts.

And it looks like we’re going to do a macros-related effort at the box starting in January again (not that I’m planning on stopping in December). So we’ll go a bit more strict after the holidays and before the CrossFit Open starts in February.

Today’s Workout

With no workout over the weekend, I knew I needed to get in today – plus I just needed it to restart the routine.

ctybtzrvaaarlvxCoach Drea had a good sized class with me, Sarah, Joe & Anne, Rich, Carrie, and Jenny. We started with some mobility and then tackled a brief 3 round warm-up:

  • 10 calories on the devil’s tricycle or rower (I chose rower)
  • 10 air squats
  • 10 sit-ups
  • 10 ring-rows, pull-ups, chest-to-bar

I didn’t feel too bad doing this until we got done and started talking about bear crawls and walking lunges. Ugh. My knees hate lunges. Bear crawl would be interesting in conjunction with them.

The WOD? Complete as many rounds as possible in 20 minutes of:

  • 50 double-unders
  • 100 ft walking lunge
  • 100 ft bear crawl

jumpropeIf we didn’t have double-unders, we were supposed to do 10 good double-under attempts, finish it out as singles, and then keep going.

Some folks in earlier classes made it through 8+ rounds. That was what Drea wanted us to shoot for. And I have to admit I was laughing hysterically at that. I knew my knees wouldn’t let me do anything close.

bodyweight_walking_lungeI made it through 3 full rounds + the double-under practice + 75 ft of walking lunge. So 3+125.

And though I’m happy to say I managed a few double-unders in the first couple of rounds, I was lucky to string together singles after that. The lunges killed me. And my bear crawls gassed me but I was pretty quick at them actually (better than the workout on Friday at Ray’s).

So we survived Monday. Huzzah! Now back to work…

Great work everybody!

 

Leave a Reply

