Surprise!

teamwodWe’ll get to why today had a surprise in it for me in a minute, but let’s talk about the workout. Today I made it in for our Saturday team WOD at CrossFit Continuum. Why? Because it’s Saturday and they’re hellish and fun usually. Do I need a better reason? Probably, but we won’t dwell on that. 🙂

The whole Fitzy clan got to go for at least part of the workout today. My eldest is guest playing on an indoor soccer team, so my wife and girls left about 2/3 of the way through the workout to take care of that – but it was great to have everyone there for a little while anyway.

We weren’t alone either – we had a great crowd. A couple of guys from 5 Star Nutrition in town with samples of their goodies (pre-workout and post-workout) and even joined in the workout today, which was kind of fun. Stacy set us up with a good WOD and we had Drea and Jimmy, Clare, Kelli, Lori and her husband, Monica & Dan, Brent, Hillary and her friend, Jonathan, and maybe a few others. It was a good group (as always).

20161119_110900It was a workout for teams of 2, so Jonathan and I joined forces. It was an AMRAP at each of ten different stations for 4 minutes each with a 1 minute transition in-between.

  • yoke carry
  • axle bar push press (95/65#)
  • GHD sit-ups
  • Box jumps (24/20″)
  • HSPUs
  • double-unders
  • pistols
  • wall balls (20/14#)
  • rope climbs
  • calories on the assault bike

Stacy randomly assigned us to stations based on our birthday and Jonathan and I started with the wall balls and worked our way through all the rest from there.

20161119_110847Jonathan and I did great through a lot of it (wall balls, jump ropes – singles, and a few others) and not so hot at things like handstand pushups. 🙂 So it was a good balance. I even did pretty well at most things – my wall balls felt pretty good. I was able to carry the yoke pretty well. I even managed to get through some GHD sit-ups where I reached all the way to the floor behind me 20-40x, which hasn’t happened in a long time.

But here’s the surprise for me.

We got through the wall balls and went to the rope climbs. I’ve never successfully managed one before. I usually do them from the floor and hand-over-hand drag myself up off the floor into a standing position, then lower myself back down the same way.

In fact, I did several that way today.

But my first one I just went for it. My brain didn’t get in the way. And before I knew it I was hand-over-hand climbing up to the top of the damn rope. I don’t even know how high I was, but I was about a foot from the rafter where it was attached when I ran out of oomph or startled myself by not knowing how to let go enough to touch the top and sliding back down.

1egvfg

It was all arms. No legs at all. I still don’t have a clue how the hell to climb a rope, so it would have been considered a “legless rope climb” I guess.

I’ve never done that before. A first. And a great one. That damn rope was one of my many nemeses in PE in my school years. Well, I’m starting to figure you out dangit! 😀

We made it through something like 900 reps when it was all added up. Not bad for 50 minutes and 2 guys.

My eldest took a bunch of pictures too, so hopefully I can share some of those before too long.

Great work everybody! Thanks for being my partner Jonathan! And I hope everybody has a fantastic day!

Leave a Reply

