Challenge accepted?

Let me start this by saying that there are no bad days at the box (unless you get hurt — then that’s a really bad day). You have good days and “meh” days. Today was a “meh” day because my body was not cooperating.

Arrived for an 8:30 class with Coach Bill. We had a great group of folks – Amber, Justin, Jake, Jenny, Adrienne & Jayda. And we started off with some mobility work. Rolling out tight back & shoulders, plus some overhead work on the floor for full extension.

jumpropeThen we did a little mini-WOD to warm-up further… 3 rounds of:

  • 50 double-unders (or 50 singles)
  • 8 overhead squats (PVC pipe)
  • 8 pvc pipe passthroughs
  • 8 jump-and-lands

Once that was done, we did the Burgener warm-up with a PVC pipe and then with a little weight. I used 75# and that felt ok.

181snatchAnd then we got going on the WOD itself…

  • Snatch 1-1-1-1-1-1-1 reps

How’d I do?

  • 95#
  • 115#
  • 115#
  • 125#
  • 135#
  • 145# (fail)
  • 145# (fail)
  • Total: 585#

I could not convince my body to drop under the bar. Everything up to 135# was a muscle snatch essentially. Straight up, no knees or hips – just pushing it all to the top in the snatch grip overhead.

Once I hit 145# that approach caught up with me. I could not get out of my own way, whether it was my head or my body that was causing the block.

There was some skill work to do after we were all done, but I didn’t have time and was frustrated by that point – so it was time to go.

And that brings me to the challenge I face.

The Challenge

Crossfit has been an amazing boon for me. Every day is different. I’ve seen growth in strength, flexibility, and endurance I had no idea I possessed. And that confidence has bled into other parts of my life as well. Definitely for the better.

The person turns hourglassBut I’m hitting a wall. My cardio has improved of late and I’m more able to push through some of the mental pain. But my strength has tapered off and actually gone down in some areas.

Is that a bad thing? Not necessarily. However, I think the thing standing in my way right now is my level of commitment.

It’s becoming clear that in a lot of respects, I’m treating each class as a one-off, isolated incident. It’s a class. I go, come home, and only do accessory work (mobility, stretching, running practice) in very limited circumstances.

This isn’t like going to a spin class or aerobics. It requires more work beyond what I’m putting in at the box.

I need to do more stretching. More double-under practice. More running practice. More Olympic lifting practice.

But I’m not sure how the heck to give it more time. I work a full time job as a software developer. I run a small publishing company on the side and have big plans for the next 12 months. I have a family that is crazy busy. I already don’t sleep well.

How do I find more time in a day to do the 30-60 minutes of extra work that I should do at home every day?

Stop writing? HA! I’d go bonkers.

I’m looking for answers here.

2 thoughts on “Challenge accepted?”

  1. Keep showing up. Stay consistent. And realize movement is a piece in the physical puzzle. The nervous system organizes and coordinates all life experiences into protection/survival or growth/recovery. Being busy immediately stimulates the protection/survival side, which diminishes the ability to recover and repair. When the busy season dulls a bit, you will see the gains and break through the walls. This is why consistency is so important. If the busy season never dulls, that’s your cue to break busy before busy breaks you.

    “The secret to all victory lies in the organization of the non-obvious.” Marcus Aurelius.

    1. Thanks Kurt. I have been chugging along and doing 3-4 workouts a week for the better part of 2 years now. I was a bit less consistent the first year, but have built this into the routine so it’s just automatic. And I am seeing gains in other areas.

      It’s a good point about protection/survival vs. growth/recovery. I think I’ve become better at recovery lately. Day to day is less of a chore than it used to be. And my engine has improved, which has been awesome. We’ll get the strength piece back in there eventually.

      I just have to find ways to fit my outside-the-box work into my daily routine as much as I’ve worked the inside-the-box work into it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

