Everything’s gonna be upright…

Sorry, I couldn’t help but include a Bob Marley reference this morning… (with apologies to the Marley clan)…

“Don’t worry about a thing,
‘Cause every little lift’s gonna be upright!”

After Saturday I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to push my left shoulder over my head, but apparently a day of rest was a good thing. And having everything go “upright” today instead of being heavy squats was also a good thing.

ctybtzrvaaarlvxArrived for an 8:30am Monday class with Coach Drea and found JJ, Lyle, Nick, and Amber waiting to get started. And we got started pretty quickly with some stretching:

  • long couch stretch on both sides with some air squat testing between and after
  • then a mini 3-round warm-up
    • 15 calorie row or assault bike (shockingly I picked the rower – *gasp*)
    • 10 air squats
    • 10 pike push-ups
    • 10 sit-ups

Once all that was done, we started on some movement reminders with the sumo deadlift high pull and push press. First with an empty barbell (45#), then adding some weight (65#), and finally working up to our working weight for the WOD (95# for me).

sdhp_4The WOD was a 7 minute AMRAP:

  • 10 sumo deadlift high pulls (135/95# rx, 95/75# l1, 75/55# l2)
  • 10 push press

Apparently someone in an early class got through 6 rounds, but most folks were in the 3 or 4 range. I managed to get through 3 full rounds + 15 reps. The first round I think I did two sets of 10 and after that I broke it down into sets of 5’s, 4’s or 3’s.

The good part is that I’m still moving. The bad part is I didn’t wear my knee sleeves so my left knee is cranky now. 🙂 Time for some ice!

Great work everybody!

We’ll see how tomorrow is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

