Why are we running?

Morning folks. Today is workout #4 in a 4 day span. I was sore, but not overly so (or so I thought) this morning. I knew it was a running workout. But it’s a day I usually go anyway, so… what the heck.

silly-walkArrived with my lovely wife Evelyn for the 8:30 class and Coach Bill was sort of surprised to see us I think. Neither one of us loves running. 🙂 We were joined by Lisa & Caleb.

We did some back and forth across the floor inside to warm up hips, knees, ankles, and the like… The Ministry of Silly Walks sketch has nothing on this warm-up. Nothing like proving over and over how little dexterity and grace you actually have in front of your friends at the box. 🙂

And then we got started. If you were a badass, you did Rx for time:

  • Run 400 meters
  • Rest 1 minute
  • Run 800 meters
  • Rest 2 minutes
  • Run 1,200 meters
  • Rest 3 minutes
  • Run 1,600 meters

Caleb, Lisa, and my wife all did Rx. Ev got done in 34:35. Slow and steady. She did awesome. Both Lisa and Caleb were right around 24 minutes. They kicked butt.

2ea8647e5284c2d7899e52aae8cc537d

I did not do Rx. Still working on the running thing. I’m improving, but after a long week of lots of squats and the damn “Devil’s Tricyle” yesterday, my right knee was cranky. It turned out to be my hamstrings and calf though that were the bigger problem.

Level I was less about time and more about how far you could go in the time allotted.

  • Level I
  • Run for 2 min
  • Rest 1 minute
  • Run for 4 min
  • Rest 2 minutes
  • Run for 6 min
  • Rest 3 minutes
  • Run for 8 min

How’d I do across my 20 minutes? Slow. 🙂

  • 400m
  • 600m
  • 800m
  • 1100m

It was not pretty, but I kept moving and cheering on the other three badasses. 🙂

Thanks Bill for the encouragement and great work everybody!!

Tomorrow is a rest day. 🙂

e913647aaa2a43ba22fb965f8eb60bfb

Leave a Reply

