“The Devil’s Tricycle”

Thanks to Jonathan Anderson, that’s what I’m now calling the assault bike. “The Devil’s Tricycle.” Has a nice ring, doesn’t it?

Is it possible to light your knees on fire during a workout? Raise your hand if you think it’s possible.

1dv9tx

Oh look – all those people in Hell are raising their hands.

Our sweet looking Coach Drea has an evil steak I think. She convinced me to come in today at noon. It was just me. And Drea kept me going the whole time.

I warmed up with two rounds of:

  • 100m run
  • 10 snatch balance (pvc pipe)
  • 10 air squats
  • 10 pvc pipe pass thrus
  • 10 inchworms with a push-up at the bottom

Then we did a lot of snatch progressions, talked about the assault bike, and looked at the workout…

  • 20 min EMOM
  • Odd: 3 power snatches @70% of her 1RM
  • Even: 12/8 cal assault bike

assault-bikeMy snatches didn’t feel great today so we lowered the weight from 95#, which I thought I’d go with, down to 75#. And we played with settings on the assault bike. Seems a seat at setting #5 was about right.

And then we just… got started. I got through about 6 or 7 rounds before my knees had had enough. They were on fire. That round I only got to 10 calories and we stuck there for the last few rounds. The snatches weren’t the problem. They weren’t great every time, but they were ok.

That damn Devil’s Tricycle.

Ugh.

When I was done, I walked a 200m “jog” outside and came in to voodoo band a knee. I need to do the other one here at home soon.

Thanks Drea – that was not a fun one. Let’s not do it again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

