EMOMs mean Quads hurt for days…

This morning I made it in for the second workout of the week… and man was I sore from yesterday. But I went anyway. πŸ™‚

For the 8:30 class we had Coach Drea, Carrie, Todd, Jake, Adrienne (with Jayda of course), and Vivien. We started with some couch stretch and then dove right into the “warm-up” which was a retest of the “baseline” workout that we’ve started doing.

1daj28Baseline for time:

  • 500m row
  • 40 air squats
  • 30 situps
  • 20 pushups
  • 10 pullups/ring rows

The first time we did this was the beginning of October, and I finished in 6:35. Today I finished in 5:53. I shaved 41 seconds off my time. That’s pretty good. πŸ™‚

Once we were done with that, we dove into the next chunk.

We did:

  • Tabata squats (air squats) – 20 seconds of work followed by 10 seconds of rest for 8 intervals (4 minutes)
  • Max-reps of muscle-ups (or muscle-up transitions) in 4 minutes

We did a new transition with rings on bands on the rig this time, which was interesting. Still was a struggle to get arms and hands working in the right way, but I did my best.

Adrienne and I shared the rings, so I started with the rings while she did the tabata and then we switched at the 4 minute mark.

body-weight-squat-illistrationI got through:

  • 17 muscle-up transitions (awkward ones but still)
  • 12 or more air squats each 20 second period through the 8 intervals

Our score is those two numbers multiplied together, so I hit 204. Far short of some of the folks who got a score of 400 or more.

But that’s fine. I was happy to get through 12 or 13 squats each round of the tabata. That was a good total for me.

So there you have it. And somehow I got talked into going tomorrow at noon and then Thursday morning again. Friday will be my rest day and then we’ll go Saturday morning.

Did I say I was sore? I think it’s gonna get worse. πŸ™‚

Thanks Drea and great work everybody!

Leave a Reply

