Dang You Helen!

Today was one of those days I knew would show up eventually. I typically try to avoid running. As we’ve seen, I’ve been improving – but it still takes a lot out of my system and is a struggle. So when I saw Helen show up… I said a lot of words in the vein of Luke Cage’s “Sweet Christmas” swear that weren’t quite as sanitized for sensitive ears.

1dhkgx

So I arrived for the Noon class with Coach Drea. Bill was finishing a workout and Vicky, who I’ve not worked out with before but seems nice. We did a bit of mobility work with a foam roller and then dove into some running warm-ups back and forth across the gym. Then we did a bit of pull-up work.

And then… it was time for Helen. 3 rounds for time:

  • 400m run
  • 21 kettle bell swings (53/35#)
  • 12 pull-ups

I had to go back and look up my previous times for Helen.

  • 19-NOV-2013 – 23:38 (Rx)
  • 7-MAR-2016 – 21:19 (Rx)

Ev did it this morning and went from a 18:11 time back in March to 13:26 – shaving nearly 5 minutes off her time. She did awesome.

So how’d I do?

1dhkk2Well, it sucked. Took me 18:56. That’s nearly a 2 and a half minute improvement, but I had to scale to get there. I lost grip quickly and couldn’t breathe.

  • 400m run (ran all but 50m)
  • 21 kettle bell swings (53#) unbroken
  • 4-4-4 pull-ups
  • 100m run, 100m walk, 50m run, 150m walk
  • 15-6 kettle-bell swings
  • 3-3-3-3 jumping pull-ups
  • 400m walk
  • 16-5 kettle-bell swings
  • 3-3-3-3 jumping pull-ups
  • DONE

It was not fun. None of the running ones are for me. Vicky did great – she got through it in about 14 minutes I think she said.

That said, I was amused by the fact that as my biceps and shoulders got more sore from the kettle bell swings I couldn’t run. And my grip disappeared quickly, so I had to adjust along the way. Grip has been a big issue for a while now, so I need to figure out how to fix that.

1dhkrwThe grip thing I expected. Somehow though I didn’t expect my breathing difficulties. I didn’t panic exactly, but it was a stressed situation for a while running, which is why I stopped completely. Not sure if it was something in the air, the small smoke cloud I ran through a couple of times, or the fact that I simply didn’t take my allergy medicine this morning.

So… here’s my thing. I’m trying to look at the glass as half full.

  • Did I complete Helen? Yes
  • Was I faster than last time? Yes
  • Did I have to scale the workout to my current physical state? Yes

Two out of three ain’t bad. šŸ™‚

Thanks for all the encouragement Drea & Vicky! I needed it. šŸ™‚

Have a great day folks!

Leave a Reply

