Front squats for days

So as you’ll recall, last Thursday wasn’t the best workout for me. My grip/wrist/forearm with my left hand caused all sorts of difficulties during the workout and I only got about halfway before we bailed. DNF. Thanks for playing. (I kid but I felt bad I didn’t finish.)

garfield-mondayI saw my friendly chiropractor on Friday (thanks Caleb!) and he popped my left wrist/elbow/shoulder to get things back in line. But we didn’t do the same to the right side. I didn’t think anything of it at the time.

Saturday was a mess of writing, soccer, and storm door repair (long story we won’t go into here). Sunday was a mess of writing, watching football, some meal prep (mental and grocery shopping), and a little wrist mobility on the floor while watching football.

And that brings us back around to Monday.

I looked at the workout last night and lo-and-behold – front squats! Definitely not looking forward to that.

jumpropeI got in for the 8:30 class and it was me, Todd, and Carrie, working with Drea. We started with a mess of mobility – some foam roller work on lats and other issues. And then we moved to another fun warm-up… three rounds of:

  • 50 single-unders
  • 10 front squats with a PVC pipe
  • 10 sit-ups
  • 10 back squats (PVC)
  • 10 inverted push-ups
  • may have been some jumping jacks as well
  • lather-rinse-repeat

And then… the fun began.

front_squat
How to Front Squat

The workout, as written, is front squats – five sets of five:

  • 5-5-5-5-5

But she had us do it a little differently. We started with a warm-up set of five sets of 5 all together.

  • Empty barbell (45#)
  • 95#
  • 135#
  • 145#
  • 155#

And then the actual workout began. We did our 5 reps and then rested 3 minutes…

front-squat-300x280
This didn’t work well for me
  • 165#
  • 175#
  • 185# (last rep was ugly)
  • 185# (failed – tried doing the arms crossed above the bar, got one rep and dropped on rep #2)
  • 175# (failed – got through 4 reps with a regular grip and couldn’t hang on to the 5th)

We finished up with a bit of couch stretch and called it good.

That was a lot of front squats. Essentially 10 sets of 5 at fairly heavy weights. My one rep for front squat is 245# (set in January 2016). 185# is 75% of that one rep max. But as ugly as my last rep was of the first set of 185# I wasn’t going to push it.

Last Thursday it was my left wrist/forearm that was bugging me. Today it was the right. Go figure.

Meanwhile I think Todd said he hit 225# 5x and little Carrie managed 110# 4x TWICE. She said her previous one rep was 90# or 95# – and she bested that easily. So they did awesome.

One last thing – A Nutritional Side Note

So Jimmy, one of the owners of CrossFit Continuum, mentioned he’s going to do a 30+ day nutritional challenge to lose some weight. I joined the fun. We’re going with the Macros approach, so we’ll see how it goes. I started tracking things more on MyFitnessPal as of today, so we’ll see how this works.

I’ll be adding some creatine (per Jimmy’s suggestion) later in the week to hopefully help with energy as well. Who knows. Maybe in 30 days I’ll be all buff and stuff. 😀

Will keep you posted.

Great work everybody! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

