In My Own Way

Do you ever have those days where you go in to train at the box and wonder a) how you got there in the first place and b) if you should have come? Today was one of those for me and soon enough my brain got in the way and my grip crashed and burned shortly thereafter…

1cp22k

Meetings prevented me from going this morning, but it was probably just as well. My head has been in a fog most of the day. But I made it into the box for a noon workout with Coach Drea. It was just me, so we started with some warm-ups and chatted for a while.

b74c3f21b6ecc2a1a13efb6d0603cac7Three rounds with a PVC pipe of:

  • 50 single-unders
  • 10 samson lunges
  • 10 overhead squats
  • 10 sit-ups
  • 10 push-ups
  • 10 good mornings
  • 10 front squats

Not too bad. We talked our way through it. And then we got to the workout itself:

  • 10 rounds for time of:
  • 95/65-lb. sumo deadlift high pulls, 7 reps
  • 95/65-lb. front squats, 7 reps
  • 95/65-lb. push jerks, 7 reps

Sure. I should be able to do the SDHP and push jerks (which became push presses) ok but I was worried about the front squats. Turned out I was right to be.

We warmed up with one round and an empty barbell. I completed all 21 movements in 45-50 seconds. Not bad. Then we added weight and I did three reps of each movement with 95# on the bar. Felt heavy but doable.

Sure. Let’s start this.

Drea wanted me to approach it like 10 rounds at 90 seconds a round. If I got done before 90 seconds was up, use that time to rest and start the next 90 second period. Damn that clock.

I made it through two rounds and started to notice that my left hand wasn’t working well. Grip was slipping. Struggled through. Complained , but struggled through.

By round 3 the writing was on the wall. I slowed way the heck down. And it got worse from there. If the clock wasn’t in my head, my grip was gone. If my grip wasn’t gone, my knees hurt. It was awesome. Not.

We called it after 5 rounds and about 15 minutes. I couldn’t hold the bar. 5 more rounds o SDHP? Sure. But forget the rest. Different muscle groups.

1cp2c9DNF > DNS. But a time would have been better.

Great work to everybody who did finish – y’all killed it.

When we were done, Drea had me do some mobility work and we discovered that a tendon in my left arm is not where it should be. Go figure. Something else is not behaving the way it should. I should have just stayed home today.

Now I’m home and exhausted. Time for lunch and a nap ’cause I’m useless at my desk.

Thanks for working with me today Drea. Sorry I didn’t even get close to finishing.

Leave a Reply

