Personal Training Header

Intervals of Fun

Though I didn’t make it in for the day’s main workout today (25 minutes of fun, from what I heard), Coach Drea did her best to torture me, i.e. help me overcome my own limitations. Most of those are in my head, so apparently I needed to sweat them out like weakness. πŸ™‚

February 29, 2016 at 1109AMI went in for a training session about 12:30. Drea had me start with 2 minutes on the assault bike. After that, we did a bit of stretching with some squat-to-stands, push-ups, and Spider-man lunges while we talked about the plan she had in store for me.

We started with an EMOM combining a calorie row and burpees. Yes, burpees – my favorite! HA! We started with a test round of both… How many calories could I row in a minute? How many burpees could I do?

Turned out I could do 15 calories pretty quickly when I was fresh. And I managed 12 burpees, though she was shooting for 15. That simply wasn’t going to happen. But I thought 12 was pretty good!

So we aimed for 15 calories and 10-12 burpees. My brain was already negotiating with me, minimizing that crazy number to somewhere in 8-10. It was kind of entertaining seeing how those thoughts progressed.

As we started, I just worked on chugging along and putting those thoughts aside. Here’s how it went:

  • 15 calories
  • 12 burpees
  • 15 calories
  • 10 burpees
  • 7 calories
  • 7 burpees
  • 9 calories
  • 9 burpees
  • 9 calories
  • 7 burpees

burpees_m_workoutlabsYou’ll notice I dropped off pretty quickly!! On the burpees side, I managed to do pretty well to start – but as soon as I paused, I was toast.

It was a long 10 minutes. πŸ™‚

When I was done, I was pretty fried. But Drea wasn’t done with me yet!

The next part of our session was some interval rowing…

  • 3 rounds of 500m at a 2:15 pace
  • 1 round of 400m at a 2:00 pace
  • 1 round of 300m at a 1:45 pace

Here’s how it ended up:

  • 500m @ 2:17
  • 500m @ 2:14
  • 500m @ 2:15
  • 400m @Β 2:00ish (Drea wrote down 1:37)
  • 300m @ 1:50ish (Drea wrote down 1:06)

Once all that was done, we did some ankle work with a voodoo band. Now I can do that for my knees and ankles, so I’ll work on doing that a bit more frequently.

0511-1005-0201-0040_Black_and_White_Vintage_Cartoon_of_a_Man_Asleep_at_His_Desk_clipart_imageWhen we were all done, I had a chiropractic appt with Caleb. He put me back together and I’ll go see him again next week to continue reversing some of the damage I did with a month of not seeing him. πŸ™‚

The fun part was after that. The exhaustion hit pretty suddenly on my way out of his office. I have to admit to taking a bit of a snooze during Mickey’s soccer practice and that helped a bit, but I’m hoping I’m going to sleep tonight.

Apparently endurance training takes a bit more endurance! Who knew? πŸ™‚

Thanks Drea! It was a great workout – something I definitely need to do more with.

Leave a Reply

