A New Benchmark

CrossFit is a bit of a game. No, I’m not referring to the CrossFit Games or local competitions, but the actual day to day attending of workouts and such. That’s part of what, for me anyway, keeps it fresh and interesting.

The Gamble

There’s a bit of a gamble as a regular crossfitter as we determine whether it’s a workout we want to attend or not. I pretty much have a set schedule every week with few exceptions – Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday at some point I’m in the box unless something unexpected comes up or I’m out of town. Occasionally I’ll squeak in another workout or two during the week or over the weekend.

question-mark-clip-art-7599But there are always questions:

  • Do I check the website or the Triib app to see what the workout is when it gets posted the night before? Usually yes.
  • Did the trainer post the entire workout or only a portion, hiding some dastardly warm-up or metcon from folks who might use that information to cherry-pick and avoid a particular day? Sometimes.
  • Do we as athletes have some movements we like and others we don’t and moan and groan about workouts that include those disliked movements? Sure.

It becomes a bit of a poker game with the coaches and yourself – wondering if that’s the “whole thing” or if it seems “too easy to be true” or if “I should even go because I can’t do those things.”

I always go on my regular workout days. But I am always tempted to avoid workouts that involve running, pistols, double-unders and other movements I simply haven’t figured out yet. But lately I’ve decided to “embrace the suck” and just go for it. If I don’t die during the workout, usually I learn something in the process. 🙂

I looked at the workout last night and wondered what Coach Drea was hiding. I can’t gamble for anything, so I decided to just suck it up and head in. (Like that was even a question!?)

Today’s WOD

I arrived for an 8:30 workout right behind Coach Drea. And I was joined by Carrie, Jenny, Jonathan, and Sarah. Even Jonathan came in wondering what Drea had up her sleeve. 🙂 The fun part was she had us guessing all the way to when she revealed her hand!

lacrosse-ball
Small, but effective

We started with more mobility, like yesterday. We did a few minutes of couch stretch with and without a med ball, testing with air squats after doing each leg in a couple of positions. And then we grabbed a lacrosse ball and worked in our quads, laying on the ball and finding spots above the knee. I found a few that made me holler.

Once that was done, we did some warm-ups with the barbell to get ready for some back squats – testing at 1/4, 1/2, and full depth squats with an empty bar. We discussed who would work together on squats and where – I worked with Jonathan.

And then she sprung the surprise. A new benchmark. Apparently this is the one she uses now on all new clients, so we’ll see it more often.

  • For time:
  • 500m row
  • 40 air squats
  • 30 sit-ups
  • 20 push-ups
  • 10 pull-ups

400px-Squats.svgShe said to shoot for 5 minutes or less. I didn’t even have a number in my head, but honestly didn’t think I’d even get close to 5 minutes. Apparently I didn’t do too badly however – I hit 6:35 and did all the movements. I’ll take it. 🙂

Once that was done, we headed to the rig to start work on back squats:

  • Back squat: 1-1-1-1-1-1-1

This isn’t for a new one rep max, but we could go for one if we wanted to. My knees were very very cranky after yesterday’s pistols (though they did feel better after the lacrosse ball mobility work), so I figured I would be doing body weight or a bit better, but not pushing all that much.

January 21, 2016 at 0141PM (1)I ended up with:

  • 215#
  • 225#
  • 225#
  • 225#
  • 245#
  • 245#
  • 245#

So a total of 1,625# over 7 reps. Not bad. Good thing I wasn’t competing with Jonathan who did multiple reps at 295# and 315#! Geez!

Ultimately it was a good day. My knees felt better after the workout than when I walked in, so I’ll count that as a win.

Next up we have a rest day tomorrow (meetings and the dentist – um, yay?) and Thursday I will do another training session with Drea. The weather is not supposed to be great, so we’ll probably stay inside where she can torture me. 🙂

Great work everybody! Hope you all have a fantastic day!

Leave a Reply

