Rest Day and Hanging Squat Clean Thrusters?

Yesterday was a rest day. I was planning on running yesterday afternoon while my eldest was at soccer practice, but honestly my knees were still complaining from Tuesday’s walking lunges and I didn’t feel the need to make them angrier. So I didn’t.

That brings us to today.

assault-bike
10 Calories Wasn’t Too Bad… What’s wrong with this picture?

Made it in for an 8:30 class with my wife. Coach Bill today. And we had a good sized class when all was said and done… We were joined by Sarah, Ashley, Jake, Caleb, Carrie, Danielle, and a new gal who has been dropping in this week.

Started with three rounds of – 10 calories on the assault bike and a 200m run. The 10 calories wasn’t

Then we did three rounds of 3 wide-legged walkouts, 6 air squats with a pause at the bottom, and 9 sit-ups. And if that wasn’t enough we did a combined 1 minute handstand hold on the wall (took me two 30 second attempts), some PVC pass-thrus, and some overhead squat work with a PVC pipe.

We were good and warm by the end of all that. And then we divvied up for a bunch of overhead squats:

  • 5-5-5-5-5

I worked with Jake & Caleb. Jake and I worked at 95# the whole time. Caleb started at 95# and then moved to 135# for his last three sets. I honestly did ok but my wrists (especially the right one) was bugging me. The last set felt better than the others though because I brought my grip in a bit. Instead of wide, snatch-style grip on the bar, I shifted to a wider push press style grip. That helped a bunch.

train-crossfit-6
This guy does great thrusters. Mine weren’t quite as good. 🙂

Then we got to the metcon today… Ugh.

  • 10-9-8-7-6…1
  • Hang Squat Clean Thruster #95/65
  • Bar Facing Burpees

Um. How about no. 🙂

If it was a regular thruster I think I would have been ok. It would have been like Fran, just with more reps. But the squat clean really messed with not only breathing, but annoyed my knees again. Then if you add in the fact that my wrists were a little ticked off after overhead squats and throwing myself at the ground for burpees is never one of my strong suits…

Did I say ugh already?

Bill gave us a 16 minute time cap. This one was one for the Lurong Challenge that Ev is doing with Patty this year. And they had 16 minutes for that.

I got through the sets of 10, 9, 8, and 7 in the 16 minutes. That’s 20 + 18 + 16 + 14 = 68 reps.

It was awful. I had my hands on my knees more than once. I struggled to get up from the burpee more than once. And I don’t think it was the bar-facing burpees even – it was that squat clean.

So a big fat DNF. But it wasn’t that I quit – it was that I was fighting my brain and my body all at the same time. At one point I swear Bill asked something like “how much do you want this?” and I swear I heard myself say “must not be very much.” The struggle was real.

Anyway… It’s done. Ev got through into the round of 4s. A few people finished. I didn’t even get close. But DNF beats DNS, so next time will be better.

dfl-dnf-dns

But I look forward to seeing what pictures Carrie took today. She’s been getting some good ones lately.

Have a great day folks – thanks for the encouragement today!

Leave a Reply

