Shuttle sprints?!?

Ah yes. Thursdays. The day I really wish was Friday most of the time. We won’t talk about the madness at work – instead we’ll just dive right into the WOD for today.

Arrived for a noon WOD with Coach Drea and Samantha (with cute little Lilly). We started with a 400m jog and then did a barbell complex with an empty barbell – 10 reps each of deadlifts, strict press, back squat, and front squat. Once that was done we did some clean practice…

clean-pull-illustrationAnd then it was off to the races for some hanging power cleans (not squat cleans thankfully):

  • 1-1-1-1-1-1-1

I’m not sure how many reps I did but it was something like:

  • 135#
  • 155# (fail)
  • 155# (fail)
  • 145#
  • 145#
  • 155#
  • 155#
  • 165# (fail)
  • 165# (ugly)

Sam managed to get to a new PR of 100# for her clean, so she was chugging along while I was dropping the bar regularly and scaring poor little 4 month old Lilly.

zprint3d-reebok-runningOnce that was done, we started on the shuttle sprints.

  • 10 80-yard shuttle sprints
  • Rest as needed between efforts.
  • For each sprint, run 10 yards out, 10 back, 20 out, 20 back, 10 out, 10 back

Drea set up the cones and both Sam and I looked at each other like “that 20 yard cone seems way out there” but oh well…

We called this type of sprints “suicides” in basketball practice back in junior high. And yes. They were just as bad as I remembered. 🙂

My fastest time was 22 seconds. My slowest was 25. Sam was faster than me (not shocking!). And I got consistently slower every time I ran. 🙂

Drea said she was happy with my running, which is good I think since we’ve been working on it. And my new shoes felt pretty good – so I’ll continue to work with them.

Now I’m tired and want to take a nap, but work isn’t going to handle that – so I guess I’ll just keep chugging. 🙂 Have a great day folks. Thanks Drea! And great work Sam!

Leave a Reply

