A Case of the Mondays…

Yeah, it definitely felt a bit like a Garfield morning today…

garfield-monday

At any rate, after a quick reschedule due to some work issues I made it to the 9:30 class today. And I know I sound like a broken record, but it was a good mix of folks (as always). Coach Bill had me, Melissa, Monica, Nick & Lisa, and Andrea to wrangle. The 8:30 class was finishing up when I got there – Jonathan & Sarah, Joe, Carrie, Jenny, John, and Adrienne (with Jayda) were wrapping up the day’s metcon. It didn’t look fun.

And Jonathan warned me to beware – the bar-facing-burpees were the easiest part of the whole thing, so that concerned me. 😀

Barbell_DeadliftWe started with three rounds of a row (20s mild, 20s medium, and 20s hard rowing), good mornings, deadlifts, and some hangs on the bar as we worked into jumping pull-ups. I somehow managed to tear the middle of my hand on Saturday – not all the way, but enough to be annoying, so I kind of babied it a little today so it wouldn’t tear all the way. So far so good.

We then worked to our deadlifts. All #s are at 90% of our 1RM. So my 1RM is 355# and I went off 320# as my 90%. That meant:

  • 5x @ 245#
  • 3x @ 275#
  • 1+x @ 305

I did 5/3/almost 3. Not too bad.My grip starts to disappear on the heavier deadlifts pretty quickly. I’m going to have to start working on a switch grip I think.

Once that was done, we shifted to the metcon and today’s was a good one.

Pullup21-15-9 reps for time of:

  • Bar-facing-burpees
  • Overhead squats
  • Chest-to-bar pull-ups
  • Men use 95#., Women use 65#

I don’t know about you, but I see the word “burpee” in a workout and I want to go the other way. But we did a ton of OHS and pull-ups on Saturday, so I knew this was going to be spicy anyway. I tried three OHS with 95# on the bar only to discover that my wrists were still pretty unhappy from all the front and OHS we did on Saturday. Go figure.

I dropped to 75# on the bar, did a combination of jumping chest to bar pull-ups (off a stack of two 45# plates) and ring rows.

Remember what Jonathan warned me about earlier? That the bar-over-burpees would be the easiest part of the workout? Um. He was right. I ended up doing some sets of 6, 8, and 10 before I was done, which is unusual for me. I think I didn’t have to stand all the way up so it was more efficient even with the bar hop, so that helped.

I finished in 18:46. It was not pretty. But I finished. 🙂

Great work to Nick (his OHS looked a ton better today – he’s been working on shoulder mobility it seems) and the rest of the gang. I think Lisa & Monica were my spirit animals today. 🙂

It was nice to see folks today – including Margaret who I haven’t seen for a while. Thanks Bill for all the motivation. Have a great day!!

Leave a Reply

