Assault Bike be Damned

So you might notice that I’m a bit behind in these write-ups. Or you may not. I’m not sure who all pays attention these days, if anybody. πŸ™‚ But the last couple of days of work have left me zero time to write up a few things. Now that it’s Saturday, I hope to remedy that.

Let’s start with the Thursday workout. I had morning meetings and other stuff going on, but I made it in for a Noon workout with Coach Bill and Samantha (with her beautiful 4 month old kiddo who hung out with Bill while we worked).

Elyse and Logan were working out when we got there. Elyse was on the ground recovering from a workout. I wasn’t sure which one until a bit later when she said that she did the day’s metcon and it was awful. πŸ™‚

silly-walkWe started with an 800m run. Let’s start with that. Frankly I don’t usually do well on 1/2 mile runs. But working on the lighter step with the balls of the feet instead of the heels made it almost ok. We did one lap to the top and back and had to pause as a car drove through the side alley to the parking lot – less than 20 seconds or so – and then did a second lap. And I ran both.

Was it easy? No. Was it easier? Yes. And I’ll take that.

Next up we did a ton of accessory work like we did the week prior.

  • 2×10 (heavier than last week)
  • Split squat
  • Weighted step-ups
  • Incline dumbbell bench press
  • Bent over barbell row
  • Sumo deadlift
  • Single leg deadlift with dumbbells

Incline_Dumbbell_Press_M_WorkoutLabsUm. These sucked. I worked with two 45# dumbbells and had issues off the bat. So my split squats became body weight after a few reps, as did my weighted step-ups. Tried the padded plyo box for the first time and it seemed a bit wobbly, so I got a regular one. It didn’t really matter. From there on I was ok, if awkward and unbalanced.

I used 95# on the bar and continued with the 45# dumbbells. Made it through one complete round of 10 reps and started over. I think I got through the incline bench press and into the bent over barbell row when we ran out of time.

Then the “fun” began. The metcon was anything but. It was a series of three AMRAPs with a 5-minute rest in-between.

  • 5 min AMRAP
  • 21 Cal Assault Bike
  • 21 Deadlift #95/65
  • 5 min rest
  • 5 min AMRAP
  • 15 Cal Row
  • 15 Front Squats #95/65
  • 5 min rest
  • 5 min AMRAP
  • 40 Double Unders (80 singles)
  • 20 Wall balls

Um. This also sucked. πŸ™‚

assault-bikeWhen I asked Bill how other folks had done, he said they were averaging about 2 rounds on each AMRAP. So I said that meant I’d probably do one and a bit more. Funny that. I averaged about 1.5 rounds on each.

  • 21 cal on assault bike/21 deadlifts @ 95#/21 cal on assault bike
  • 15 cal on rower/15 front squats @ 95#/15 cal on row
  • 80 single-unders/20 wall balls/80 single-unders/6 wall balls (20# med ball)

Yeah, that sucked.

I really don’t like the Assault Bike at all. My left knee was complaining almost immediately and getting off the damn thing I just about killed myself. Deadlifts weren’t awful, but getting back on the assault bike was a challenge. I would do 8-10 calories and have to pause to give my knee a break, then go again.Β And the front squats were hard simply because my knees were so fired up.

It was a good metcon. The limiting factor was me. πŸ™‚

So thanks Bill – and great work Samantha! I’d say it was fun but I’d be lying. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

