A Whole Lotta Squats

When I said I didn’t want to do squat today, apparently I didn’t make myself clear to the universe. πŸ™‚

400px-Squats.svgThough the rest of my family had other errands to run and things to get done today, I decided to represent the Fitzy clan at this morning’s team workout at CrossFit Continuum. I wasn’t alone, but after looking at the workout I was wondering if I’d made the right choice!

We started with a 200m jog and then came back in to do some static stretching of hamstrings in a few movements. Why? Because we were going to do a whole lot of squats in the near future. Today’s workout was a doozy.

Teams of 2 Complete:

  • 75 back squats 95/65 (scale weight)
  • 50 pull-ups (scale-ring rows)
  • 25 shoulder to overhead
  • 75 front squats
  • 50 pull ups
  • 25 shoulder to overhead
  • 75 overhead squats
  • 50 pull ups
  • 25 shoulder to overhead
  • 75 back squats
  • 50 pull-ups
  • 25 shoulder to overhead
  • 75 front squats
  • 50 pull-ups
  • 25 shoulder to overhead
  • 75 overhead squats
  • 50 pull-ups
  • 25 shoulder to overhead

Time Cap: 40 minutes

Um. Yeah. After stretching we were left to find our teams and I didn’t have anyone right off the bat. Shaun stopped me and asked if I needed a partner, so he started setting up a bar. And Isaac stopped the two of us and asked if he could join too. Who are we to say no? πŸ™‚

Overhead-squat-1We used a 95# bar and split it up in various ways. The back squats weren’t awful and the shoulder to overhead wasn’t bad, but it got worse from there. πŸ˜€ Front squats were a little sucky and the overhead squats and pull-ups were a lot sucky. But I think we got through the last set of overhead squats before the timer ran out, so that was good. πŸ™‚

Eventually I had to drop to ring rows for the pull-ups. I just didn’t have the pull any more and it would have taken forever to do them one at a time. The shoulder to overhead felt pretty good at 95# though. We’ll see how I feel tomorrow.

We were all pretty gassed at the end. And as Isaac put it later – “The quad burn will go away next week I promise!” I’m holding him to that. πŸ™‚ He and Shaun did the lion’s share of many of these movements – but I don’t think I slowed them down much.!

Thanks for partnering up with me on this one guys – it was spicy towards the end!

Great work everybody! Hope you all have a fantastic rest of your weekend!

(In case anybody was wondering, today was my 5th workout of the week. Good thing tomorrow’s a rest day so my knees might recover!)

Leave a Reply

