Making Up for Labor Day

Yes, I want you to look at the subject line. “Making up for Labor Day.” What does that mean? That means that your coach who is organizing the current strength cycle didn’t want us to skip a part of the programming simply because a holiday fell on the day we would have done it. She said we were “making it up today,” which I thought was funny considering the killer workout we had yesterday!

I went in this morning and have to say my shoulders were a bit fired up after all those handstand push-ups.

At any rate, I made it in for the 8:30 class with my wife. It was Coach Drea, Jake, John, Jenny, and the two of us. A smaller bunch for sure. The 9:30 class was smaller still with Todd, Ashley, and Joe it looked like. Apparently the 5 and 6am classes were packed again?

We started with a 200m jog (which didn’t feel too bad). Then we came back in and did three sets of 5 inchworms, 10 Cossack squats (each side), and 15 jumping jacks with arms overhead like throwing water over your head instead of clapping overhead. After that there was a bit of snatch warm-up before we divided up to work on the strength portion of the day…

  • Barbell_Bench_PressBench Press
    • 3@70%
    • 3@80%
    • 3+@90%
  • Deadlift
    • 3@70%
    • 3@80%
    • 3+@90%

All of these numbers are at 90% of our 1RM.

Last week with the bench press, I did 155/165/175 when we did sets of 5 reps. Today I did 165/175/185 and did ok, if a little wobbly on the last 185 (rep 4).

Ev did 70/80/90# for the bench press. She said the 90# was good for two reps and she needed help with the last two.

Barbell_DeadliftAnd I missed the deadlift portion of last week, so I had to whip out the calculator on my phone today. Turns out my math is off because I went based on 345# instead of 355#. Oops. But I used 310# as my rough guideline (should have been 320#).

My numbers for today ended up being:

  • 225# x3 (73% of 310#) (70% of 320#)
  • 255# x3 (82% of 310#) (80% of 320#)
  • 285# x3 (92% of 310#) (89% of 320#)

So I wasn’t far off. I’ll take it. It felt heavy, but doable.

Ev did 185/215/225 for her deadlifts. She kicked butt as always.

Once we got done with all of that, it was time for the metcon. Yay metcons.

  • 10 minute AMRAP
  • 95# power snatches, 10 reps
  • burpees, 10 reps

burpees_m_workoutlabsBurpees suck. I’m just sayin’. First set I got through 10 unbroken snatches and kept moving pretty well through the burpees. Second set I broke them up 5 and 5. Burpees got slower and slower. Third set, 5 and 5, even slower burpees. And I didn’t even finish the 10 snatches in the 4th set. Got through 3 full rounds and 6 snatches.

Today I thought it was going to be my shoulders that gave me grief, but it turned out to be the left knee I tweaked a bit during the Labor Day WOD kicking into and out of a handstand on the wall (I need to learn not to lock out the damn knee). And then there’s the breathing. It was hard. I haven’t figured that part out on the burpees either. There has to be a trick, but I’m not sure what it is.

Ev got through 4 full rounds plus 5 reps with a 55# bar.

So… a mixed bag today. Tomorrow is a rest day and I’ll try and work in more stretching.

Great work everybody!

Leave a Reply

