We must labor for labor day…

Though we missed the Saturday team workout due to soccer engagements this weekend, we made sure to shoehorn in the Labor Day workout at CrossFit Continuum to get in a bit of sweat of our own. Evelyn, AJ, and I trucked over to the box today to see what in the heck a “Hero WOD Surprise” might be.

And it was a doozy.

We had a great turnout – lots of folks today. The place was full of familiar faces.ย We started with a 400m run and came in to set up.

Evelyn and I teamed up with Jonathan and Sarah while AJ teamed up with Kaila and her friend for a threesome. We had no clue what we were doing – but there were about four workouts to choose from and Drea and Isaac drew two names out of a box.

Thumbs-up-clipart-cliparts-for-you-5I didn’t get pictures of the workouts so I don’t remember what their names were, but they were doozies. Two of them, back to back.

First we did a 20 minute AMRAP.

  • 2 muscle ups (or some other scaled option)
  • 4 handstand push-ups (or scaled options)
  • 8 heavy kettle bell swings (70/53#)

Jonathan and I got through somewhere around 20 rounds completed. But it was a long 20 minutes, let me tell you. We both did mostly strict HSPUs and used the 70# kettle bell for our swings. He did chest to bar (2 or 3 each round) and I did pull-ups (4 each round). I was laughing though because we picked one of the higher bars. Neither one of us is exactly among the tallest folks there, so we jumped. I was able to get 4 pull-ups in each round until the last 2 or 3 rounds. I jumped and couldn’t grab with fingertips, so I almost fell on my butt. It was at that point I did jumping pull-ups instead. ๐Ÿ™‚

Ev & Sarah used a 53# kettle bell and I’m not sure what else, but she said they got through about 24 rounds.

Once that was done we had a 5 minute break to set up for the next part.

20160518_10304030 rounds for time:

  • 5 wall balls (20/14# medicine ball)
  • 3 HSPUs (again!)
  • 1 heavy hanging power clean (225/155# Rx I think)

Jonathan and I did the wall balls fine, HSPUs until we couldn’t and just did regular push-ups, and we dropped to the Women’s Rx weight at 155# for the cleans. None of our cleans were very pretty. And it took a bit more than 22 minutes to finish it all.

Ev & Sarah finished in 17 minutes or so with 95# on the bar and I’m not sure what else.

I wasn’t sure we were going to finish. My left knee was getting really cranky. And my whole body was vibrating when we were done. It was a good one. ๐Ÿ™‚

My positives…

  • We never quit. We just scaled and kept moving.
  • The 400m run actually went pretty well, so maybe focusing on foot position is helping me out. ๐Ÿ™‚
  • It was fun and just good to see all those friendly faces. ๐Ÿ™‚

We had to skip out pretty quickly after we were done so that Ev could get on with the soccer portion of our day (I am staying home to get some things done). There may be a nap before long. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great day folks and I hope you all spend it with family and friends!

Thank you Jonathan & Sarah for pushing us today!

Leave a Reply

