New Torture Devices

I’m so happy it’s Thursday. I’ve taken today and tomorrow off from work to extend the already long Labor Day weekend a bit and recharge from some craziness at work. We’ll see if it helps.

But that means I got to go to CrossFit Continuum for an 8:30 class with my wife this morning, which is always fun. Coach Drea had the two of us, Jonathan, Carrie, Larry, John, Danielle, and Caleb. It was a fun crew. We started with a 400m jog and some squat-to-stand, Spider-man lunges, and thoracic high fives to get started.

Incline_Dumbbell_Press_M_WorkoutLabsThe strength portion today was a bit of a mix of stuff. It was 2 sets of 10 reps each of:

  • Split squat
  • Weighted step-ups
  • Incline dumbbell bench press
  • Bent over barbell row
  • Sumo deadlift
  • Single leg deadlift with dumbbells

We did split-squats, weighted step-ups, incline dumbbell bench press, and single leg deadlifts with 25# dumbbells. Sumo deadlifts and bent-over barbell rows I did with a 135# barbell.

Of it all, anything off the box was a challenge and the single-leg deadlifts and barbell rows sucked. But we got them done.

assault-bikeAnd then we got to the metcon, which was a killer:

  • 30 calories on the Assault Bike
  • 150 double-unders or 300 single-unders
  • 50 calorie row

This was intense. We just got the assault bikes at the box and this is the first time we’ve had them show up in a workout. I think it looks a bit like a medieval torture device. It certainly felt like one.

When I was on it, I was very upright. About halfway through I experimented with pushing more with my arms (it takes a bit to get used to not only pedaling, but pushing) and that was interesting. I could tell my knees were really not enjoying it much. And when I got off the damn thing I felt like my knees were rubber.

It took me 2:30 to do the assault bike. And my row was nearly 4 minutes. The rest of my time was spent getting through the single-unders. I could only go for 50-75 at a time, so 300 took a while.

Final time: 11:57. Definitely a challenge. People were finishing in about half my time. Good for them. 🙂 Ev got done in 10:42 I think she said. So she kicked my butt by about a minute.

I’m tired now. Good thing it’s my day off. I need to work on running though – after doing all that fun however, I think my knees need a break today.

I heard we might be doing Becky tomorrow. If that’s the case, I’ll get plenty of running practice in.

Have a great day folks!

Leave a Reply

