Bench Press and Box Jumps, Oh My!

We’re halfway through my week. Amazing how much better Tuesday looks when it’s your hump day. I’m ready to be to my long weekend already!

It’s Tuesday. No meetings to contend with. A bit of work, Ev took the kids to the bus and to school. A shockingly quiet day.

Ev made it to the workout today at 5am. As I have said multiple times before, this is crazy talk. But according to Drea there were 15 people in the 5am class today. That’s insane. I may have sleeping issues, but that doesn’t mean anyone should have to deal with my ugly, cranky mug at 5am.

jumping-jacks-5JBrue-clipartSo I went to the 8:30 class. 🙂 Drea had me, Elyse, Sarah, Melissa, and Jake. So a small class compared to 5am!

We started with a 200m run and then did a little warm-up WOD:

  • 3 rounds for time
  • 5 burpees
  • 10 air squats
  • 15 jumping jacks

Yay, burpees?

From there we split up a little. I worked with Jake on bench press on one side and the ladies worked on the other side. Jake was in his own category however for bench press, ending up with 5 reps at 315#. I was much more modest using the following math:

  • 1RM = 230#
  • 90% of 230# = 205#
  • 65% of 205# = 135# (did this x5)
  • 75% of 205# = 155# (did this x5)
  • 85% of 205# = 175# (did this x3 with one ugly one and one that shouldn’t count because Jake was spotting me and helped with that one)

Barbell_Bench_PressCompared to Jake’s 315# there was no way. 315# is a deadlift weight for me and a heavy one at that!!

So great work Jake!

Once that was done, we got out equipment for the day’s metcon. We needed a plyo box for box jumps and whatever pad or setup we needed for the floor for handstand push-ups.

  • For time:
  • 50 box jumps, 24/20-inch box
  • 25 handstand push-ups
  • 40 box jumps, 24/20-inch box
  • 20 handstand push-ups
  • 30 box jumps, 24/20-inch box
  • 15 handstand push-ups
  • 20 box jumps, 24/20-inch box
  • 10 handstand push-ups
  • 10 box jumps, 24/20-inch box
  • 5 handstand push-ups

box-jump-failI scaled to Level II which was 30/12/25/10/20/8/15/6/10/4 and used a 20″ box instead of a 24″ box. And I did HSPUs to a 25# weight with one abmat as long as I could. I got through the first 22 and then shifted to a half HSPU/half pike push-up scheme. Between my right wrist and my biceps, I went to failure fairly quickly.

Someday I’ll figure out how to make my kipping HSPUs more efficient. I did do a few, but it was mostly strict. As soon as I lose tension in the elbow, I’m having a devil of a time generating momentum back up the wall. I suspect that’s due to the lack of kip.

But here’s my win for the day. That’s the most box jumps, even to a 20″ box, that I’ve done in one workout in forever. That’s 100 solid 20″ box jumps for me. And I’ll take it.

Woot!

19r802

Great work everybody! I think though I’m proud of the box jumps it was the HSPUs that smoked me (and everybody else).

Thanks Drea for the encouragement and Jake for the spotting today! Have a great day folks!

Leave a Reply

