The Weekend, Back Squats, a Cindy-ish workout, and a Handband review

So it’s Monday! Somehow I’m enthusiastic about the prospects of this shorter week (thanks to some time off and a long weekend).

A Busy Weekend

Let me start by talking about the weekend, which included two box-related events at Continuum. Friday night we had a Cornhole Tournament with a Superhero theme. Everybody either wore a hero t-shirt or dressed up a bit (mostly the kids dressed up, but a few adults too) and we had burgers and beers.

I think I’ve only played cornhole once before, so I have to admit a bit of trepidation as to my effectiveness during such an event. But I had a great time playing with my random teammate Vickie (who also happens to have kids who play or played in our soccer club). She was quite a ringer at cornhole and I was either hot or not. I blame it on the beers and bourbon. That said, we made it into the second round with a final record of 2-2.

20160826_215708

And my eldest made it all the way to the final game with her partner. Not sure where she got her cornhole skills, but I know she got her competitive streak from her mother. 🙂

Once that was done, we had a full day of soccer and then it was back to the box for the Continuum Fantasy Football draft for the 2016 season. I haven’t played fantasy football for a year or two and thought it would be fun to try with a different group. If the draft was any indication, it should be an entertaining season. 🙂

We also played some games, including poker. Now, I’m awful at poker but I did my part to fund the pot. By the end of my chips I think I fed it quite nicely. 🙂

All in all a fun couple of nights at the box that had nothing to do with crossfit and everything to do with having fun with our crossfit family. I had a great time and was pretty social, which will tell you just how much I like these people!

Today’s Workout

Sunday was a recovery day and a day to catch up on all the things we didn’t do while we were having fun at the box. And that brings us to today.

Made it in for an 8:30 class with Coach Bill. We had Larry, Carrie, Sarah, and myself in the 8:30 class. And we were all in a good mood. Shocking!

We started with an interesting warm-up. 3 rounds of:

  • 100m run
  • 5 inch worms
  • 5 back squats with a PVC pipe
  • 5 good mornings with a PVC pipe
  • 5 Spider-man lunges each side

Once that was done we started the strength portion of the day.

  • Front squats
  • 5 @ 65% of our 90% 1RM
  • 5 @ 75% of our 90% 1RM
  • 5+ @ 85% of our 90% 1RM

So my values (after some calculator work) became:

  • 245# 1RM
  • 90% = 220#
  • 145# = 65% of 220#
  • 165# = 75% of 220#
  • 185# = 85% of 220#

I ended up with:

  • 5 @ 145#
  • 5 @ 165#
  • 6 @ 185# (left hip got cranky so I didn’t get far)

Not bad. We’ll see where we end up the cycle.

cindyThen we did the Metcon…

  • From 0:00-3:00, perform 3 rounds of:
    • 3 pull-ups
    • 6 push-ups
    • 9 squats
  • From 3:00-6:00, perform 3 rounds of:
    • 4 pull-ups
    • 8 push-ups
    • 12 squats
  • From 6:00-9:00, perform 3 rounds of:
    • 5 pull-ups
    • 10 push-ups
    • 15 squats
  • From 9:00-12:00, perform 3 rounds of:
    • 6 pull-ups
    • 12 push-ups
    • 18 squats
  • Etc.

So that becomes a bit like Cindy (5 pull-ups, 10 push-ups, 15 squats, 20 minute AMRAP). I didn’t quite get to the cindy round. But I almost made it through the 6th round (3rd round of 5/8/12). I finished it off when I ran out of time, but didn’t get any further.

Both Carrie & Larry got past round 8 into round 9, which was impressive. I slowed way down on the push-ups and that held me up. And my time to get back on the bar for more pull-ups dragged a bit longer each round as well.

Bill seemed happy with everybody’s performance. We were all moving pretty well all things considered, so hey… Progress!

Great work everybody and thanks for the encouragement Bill!

One last thing

warrior_v3_largeI tried out my new Handband Pro v3 today during the workout. It was a new design this time. It used to just be a large loop of fabric with a rubber mat to help across the palm where you looped it. Now it has a more glove-like velcro approach with two velcro bands – one with the rubber mat for your palm and the other at the wrist.

With the first generation of the Handband Pro, I loved it. It was just the right length and size to save me from ripping the snot out of my palms and fingers with lots of pull-ups. But when my first set started to shred and fray, it was time for a new one.

Unfortunately my v2s didn’t hold up as well. I’ve torn with them on twice because the fabric doesn’t cover the right part of my fingers when it’s wrapped around. So I was hopeful that the new ones would work better.

I’m happy to say that, after one use and a relatively light one, they held up just fine. The pad never moved, so that was positive. We’ll see how they do with more vigorous beating in the next go-round.

Sarah told me that her husband tried a pair and didn’t like them, so he sent them back. Not sure why – I’ll talk to Jonathan eventually. But for me it’s “so far so good” and there will be more testing as we do more workouts.

That’s it for now. Have a great day folks!

Leave a Reply

