Um… dumbbell burpee thrusters? What?!?

Yeah, that was my response last night when I looked at the workout for this morning. I shouldn’t look. I know this. But I do it anyway to torture myself I think. It’s not like I didn’t go in after seeing it – but I certainly wasn’t sure how the heck I was going to do it. 🙂

Mondays. Go figure.

20-lbs-dumbbell1Made it in for an 8:30 class with Coach Drea. We had Larry, Carrie, Jenny, Jake, and myself. Not a big class, but a great bunch as always. 🙂 Started with a 400m jog to warm-up. I tried using Isaac’s “ball of the foot and open hand” approach and maybe, just maybe, it helped a little. I’ll be interested to see what Drea has for me to focus on starting Thursday afternoon. 🙂

We got back in from the jog and did some squat-to-stands, towel ring-outs for shoulders, 25# plate presses, and then – my favorite – roll to candlesticks. Someday maybe I’ll be able to roll up onto my feet from my back. Right now I just feel like a turtle rolling around on its shell.

Then we worked through the pull-up to warm up a bit further and ended talking about these funky dumbbell burpee thrusters.

Our workout was:

  • 21-18-15-12-9-6-3 of these dumbbell burpee hang clean thrusters and pull-ups

This video shows a variation on the workout but it definitely shows how to do the dumbbell move even if it’s a slightly different WOD.

This was not my cup of tea. I have some issues with single arm thrusters on my left side and by the time I was through even just a few of the set of 21 I noticed I couldn’t go straight up – mobility wise I was forced to go up and out at an angle, which I knew wasn’t going to fly. I dropped the weight to 15# on my left side and that only helped for a while. By the set of 15 I was basically doing a burpee, an air squat, and a “thruster” with my empty arms over my head. And even that was a challenge.

c2bPull-up wise I did 7 + 7 regular kipping pull-ups and 7 jumping pull-ups, 6 + 6 kipping and 6 jumping, then had to drop to all jumping because my right hand tore.

Took a long time to get through this one, even with as much as I was scaling at the end. But I finished in 34:15. Larry & Jake were still going, so I wasn’t last today and they were going with less scaling options and doing awesome. Meanwhile Carrie & Jenny blew us all away and flew through this one.

As I said earlier – not my cup of tea. But I finished, so I’ll take it.

Great work everybody!

Leave a Reply

