Split Jerks

As always, Thursdays are hit and miss for me. Work tends to cause grief more often than not. But today I was able to escape the gravitational pull of the desk in my basement to get to an 8:30 class with my wife.

jerk-clipart-olympic-weightlifting-clean-jerk-hiCoach Drea had her hands full today with Ev, Danielle, Jenny, Larry, and me. But we always have fun, so that’s a big part of it. πŸ™‚ We got there only to discover that the website/Triib only listed half of the workout last night. (We always check.) It had the split jerks portion but didn’t mention anything about the metcon that was staring us in the face when we got there. πŸ™‚

Sneaky, Drea!

So we warmed up with a 400m jog, then went right into the metcon to finish warming up… aΒ 20 min AMRAP:

  • 5 Burpees
  • 10 Sit-ups
  • 15 Double Unders (double-under practice and singles)
  • 200m Run

We grabbed our ab mats, our jump ropes, and headed right into the metcon. On each round I’d do a few (usually 3 or 4) attempts at double-unders, do 15 singles, and then get moving again. But I ran more than walked, so that’s something.

Olympic weightsMade it through 4 rounds plus the burpees & sit-ups in the 5th round. Not quick by anybody’s standards, but I never stopped moving for long so I think I did ok.

Once that was done we started working on split jerks. This is not one of my favorite movements. My feet have a mind of their own and getting into the split position, especially one where I’m down underneath the bar, has always been a challenge. But today, with lighter weight, I felt like I did ok. Some of the attempts even felt good, which was shocking. πŸ™‚

We did 7 sets of 3:

  • 3-3-3-3-3-3-3

Larry and I worked together. He did the majority of his at 135#. I did the majority of mine at 115# and 125#. And that was heavy enough. My wrists are bugging me still from Monday’s muscle snatches, so my middle sets got a little wonky but even Drea was happy with how my form has improved. Always good to make your coaches happy I think. πŸ™‚

7TaonKRbcOnce we were done with that, the 9:30 class (Jack, Caleb, Sarah, Monica, and Andrea) had already started into their metcon. It went a little long but I was taking my time today and so was Larry. πŸ™‚ We did just fine.

I stuck around through the 9:30 class and had a chat with Drea afterwards about setting some goals for the next few months. When you hear me talk about running, don’t be shocked. We will work together to improve my mechanics and mobility so that hopefully running won’t be quite so much of a chore.

Will we be successful? I have hope!

Great work to all the folks in the 8:30 and 9:30 classes. Thanks Larry for working with me and thanks Drea for your time afterwards!

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

