Max Effort?

This week has so far been filled with some entertaining WODs. And I use the word “entertaining” as a euphemism for “mainly collections of movements I am neither good at nor like”. πŸ™‚ I jest. But really that’s one of the reasons I like crossfit so much – you may get a few workouts that you can just kill and then you’ll get ones where your body just doesn’t have it down yet. There’s always something to work on.

190qv3So today my wife made it in for a 5am crossfit class because she’s a crazy lady. I say that with all the love in the world because getting up at 4am is nuts. It’s hard enough to get up by 6!Β She was kind enough to let me know it wasn’t too bad, though I was planning on going anyway. πŸ™‚

Headed in for an 8:30am class with Coach Drea. We had a great group – Caleb, Carrie, Larry, Jenny, Andrea, and Melissa.

Started with a 400m run and then did… roll to candlesticks (this site has a great video showing someone who can actually do them). I couldn’t even cheat and do them at the rig to pull myself up. πŸ™‚ We had to do them on the floor and work on single-leg (um, nope) or double leg to just get to that really low squat at the end – not even standing up.

Yeah, right.

My rolls looked like a turtle stuck on its shell and I don’t have enough mobility in my hips to explode from the bottom to end up on my feet at all. It wasn’t pretty.

Dumbbell-Single-Arm-SnatchOnce that was done we did some one-armed overhead squats with a dumbbell (I used a 15# dumbbell because my right wrist is bugging me after yesterday’s muscle snatches and locking out didn’t work out all the well on the left side either), and some work on the floor. Leg lifts and deep knee lunges.

Yes, the warm-up was pretty focused on my lack of mobility in the hips and low back plus wrist, shoulder, and knees. And that was before we practiced the movements for the WOD itself, which was a leisurely max sets:

  • 3 attempts at each of the following:
  • Max set single-leg squats on your left leg, then your right leg. Do not alternate.
  • Max set single-arm dumbbell, touch-and-go, snatches with your left arm and then your right.
  • And a max set of strict toes to bars.

Pistol_SquatI’m awful at pistols. One-armed anything is never easy. And I can barely do a toes-to-bar with a full swing behind me on a good day. Yeah, this was going to be a challenge. We could bounce around from one movement to another in any order, so I did:

  • Strict toes-to-bars (or legs to as close to 90 degrees as possible)
  • Single-arm snatches
  • Pistols

By the end I managed:

  • 7 strict toes to 90 degrees
  • starting with a 25# dumbbell and moving up to a 55# kettle bell, I got 8 with my right arm and 9 with my left
  • to a stack of four 45# plates and a 25# plate (I started with 5 45# plates and Drea had me shorten it a bit), I managed 7 right-leg pistols and 8 left-leg pistols
  • Total: 39 reps

January 21, 2016 at 0141PM (1)I had to laugh because I tried going to four 45# plates and I couldn’t find the stack of plates with my butt. Literally my body couldn’t find the pile where it thought it should be and said “nope, you’re going to fall” and it wouldn’t let me drop. Same thing stops me from falling backward from that low squat into the half roll before a roll-to-candlestick. Apparently I don’t want to slam my butt into the ground.

These days I’m fighting a ton of tightness in my lower back and my hips. Nothing down there wants to shift at all, so I definitely need to do some serious work. Lots of sitting causes bad things people!

Was it my best workout ever? Um, no. Did I work the whole time? Yes. And then I did a bunch of couch stretch afterwards.

I’m ready for a nap now. Definitely nap time.

Great work everybody and thanks Drea for the encouragement and guidance! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

