Sprints? Really?

This blog post is brought you by the letter S as in Sprints and Strict Pull-ups. They both suck for me. That should end the post right there, but it doesn’t.

7TaonKRbc
Goofy would have done better than me at sprints today

Thursdays are hit and miss for me. Every other week I have a meeting I have to show my face at (via video chat), so on those weeks I get to attend the noon class at CrossFit Continuum instead of an 8:30 or 9:30 class. Today I got to work with Coach Drea, with Brent, Heather, and Samantha. And Drea was watched by a new potential coach while she taught our class. So pretty quiet all things being considered.

We started with a 400m jog and then did some samson lunges, squat-to-stands, and jumping pull-ups before working on a few strict pull-ups. Though I’m happy to say that my strict pull-ups are actual pull-ups now and not chin-ups, I also have to declare that I can only do one of them at a time. So our 1×5 strict pull-ups became 1×1, +1, +1, +1, and +1. Took a little while.

When that was done, we shifted to some deadlift practice before doing 5-5-5-5-5 touch-and-go reps with Drea watching and correcting. Not very heavy, just working on form, and I still had issues with what she wanted. Butt down, shoulders pinched back, head up, bar close to body… I was good to focus on one, maybe two of those each rep. We started with a pvc pipe, moved to an empty 45# barbell, then added to 95#, then 135#. From there we were on our own to do 5 sets of 5.

Barbell_DeadliftI did: 185# 3×5 reps, 225# 2×5 reps.It would have been light but we were focused on touch and go form, not just lifting and dropping. Drea did her best to get me to adjust form. She really did.

From there we went outside to do 200m sprints. You know me… I hate running. The 400m jog to warm up was about the most running I ever willingly do.

I did one 200m sprint – 53 seconds. Yay. My body then wanted to quit. So I did a 250m row – 53 seconds. Apparently that was my time today. Meanwhile, the rest of the class did awesome and sprinted 4x while I was pretty much done after 1.

Not my thing. Did a little couch stretch and then headed home.

Thanks Drea – sorry my heart wasn’t in the sprints today. I think I’ll go take a nap.

Leave a Reply

