Crossfit Total, August 2016

Sleep has been tough to come by the last couple of nights, so I wasn’t sure how I’d do today. I’m only mildly disappointed. 🙂

We had a great class today with Coach Bill (also saw Coach Drea and Larry joined us)… Me, Ev, and AJ, plus Sarah, Larry, Nic & Nichole, Melissa, Danielle, and the nice new gal whose name is just not sticking today. Started with a 400m run and 3 minutes of the bear complex (deadlift, front squat, push press, back squat) with an empty bar. Once that was done, we did some handstand work.

gymnastics-handstand-silhouette-body-silhouette-man-in-handstand-front-1Eventually I’ll figure out the freestanding handstand. But I was having issues not only with shoulders but wrists today. Wrists don’t work well as ankles apparently. I managed to kick away from the wall briefly to do a bit of balance work and then helped Larry with some partner freestanding handstands by more or less being the wall and keep him from going over backwards a time or two.

When THAT was all done, we did some more barbell warm-ups with the three movements of the crossfit total: back squat, deadlift, and strict press. And then we were cut loose.

I worked with Nic and Larry and we just kept adding weights (and occasionally removing them) from the bar. When we started I felt pretty good, so I was curious to see how I’d do.

For the back squat, we started with 225#, jumped to 275# (my old 1RM) and then put another 20# on for 295#. I probably could have gone a bit farther, but we were on the clock so I didn’t want to be the guy that kept us from getting done. 🙂

Olympic weightsFor the deadlifts, I’m not sure what happened – but my low back above my hips was not happy. I knew when a 225# warm-up deadlift felt somewhat heavy that it wasn’t going to be a good day. We jumped to 305# and I did one ugly deadlift to get it up. And that was it. I attempted 335# twice and it just wasn’t happening.

Once that was done, we shifted to the strict press. And it felt great up to 135#, which was my old 1RM. It felt light. For some reason that was the beginning of the end for me ’cause I started rushing and not setting up properly. I attempted 155# a couple of times but eventually fell back to a really really ugly 145# which I did get up eventually.

So your crossfit total is your back squat + your deadlift + your strict press. 295# + 305# + 145# = 745#. Not awful. Not great. And 2 out of 3 PRs is nothing to sneeze at. I’m just disappointed the deadlifts weren’t happening for me today.

Meanwhile Larry did awesome. And Nic did great. 🙂

AJ also did amazingly well – 135# back squat, 155# deadlift, and 50# strict press I think. And Ev did 205#, 265#, and 75#.

Definitely a day for PRs! Great work everybody!

 

Leave a Reply

