The Legend of 5 Ring Dips

Sorry. We did ring dips today and I know about a role-playing game called the Legend of Five Rings. I couldn’t help but mash ’em up. 🙂

Anyway… I wanted to get in for a morning class today but couldn’t escape my desk until later – so that’s what I did. My wife and youngest made it in this morning and it sounded like they had a good time with Coach Bill and the gang. I was sorry I missed Heather, who dropped in for a workout today. But I finally made it in for the Noon class. Coach Isaac started us out and Coach Drea finished us off after her workout was done. Isaac had a good reason to leave – it was his wife Nancy’s birthday today. 🙂

clean-pull-illustrationWe had a good group today – a new gal whose name I didn’t catch, AJ and his wife and daughter, Joe, and Brent. Everybody was pretty cheerful, which I needed after a morning at my desk. 🙂

We started with a 400m jog outside and came in to do some squat-to-stands, side lunges, and then a barbell complex with an empty barbell. 10 deadlifts. 10 push press. 10 back squats. 10 overhead squats. Then a few squat cleans to grow on.

Once we were done with that we started in our squat cleans. Today was:

  • Strength – Squat Cleans – 1-1-1-1-1-1-1

Seven sets of 1 took a bit. Squat cleans are not my favorite. I can usually power clean and front squat things, but combining those two motions is difficult. Isaac had me try something new today – a “half” squat clean where I didn’t stand it up all the way and just tried to convince my body to pivot around the bar. Somehow that worked to short circuit the “clean then squat” approach that my brain had adopted and my next few were better.

I actually did 8 sets of 1…

  • 115#
  • 135#
  • 155#
  • 165#
  • 165#
  • 165#
  • 165#
  • 165#

My one rep max for a power clean is 195# and I think I might be getting closer to that with the squat clean soon. 🙂

Gymnastics-ringsOnce all of that was done, we started in on the skill work. More gymnastics movements today – specifically the ring dip.

  • Skill – Gymnastics – 1×5 weighted ring dips (or regular ring dips or box dips) – but no bands

I wasn’t sure how I was going to do here. Ring dips are one of those things that my body sometimes can do and sometimes can’t. Well, I did ok today for a while alternating on the rings with Joe.

We did 5 sets of 5 instead of 1 set of 5. I did 2 sets that weren’t weighted, 1 full weighted set (10# plate tucked between my knees), one weighted set (10# again) that went to 4 before I couldn’t hold any more, and my last one without weight that I got 4 on. So it was 5-5-5-4-4. Not too bad.

My only problem was I felt a pop in the left shoulder about the 3rd set. It doesn’t hurt, but something feels off. I’m hoping it returns to normal soon. I’ll survive, I’m sure.

AJ’s daughter was quite the little gymnast. She made handstands, handstand walks, and ring dips look dang easy. 🙂

Anyway… All done with that today. Sweat like a pig again – my shirt is soaked. But a fun class! And now I’m back to work.

3 thoughts on “The Legend of 5 Ring Dips”

  1. Apparently this was a 10# PR today, since the last time we did them I could only do 155# back in May with Larry & Caleb. And the fact that I did it 5 times – somewhat ugly, but still functionally – I think is an improvement. 🙂

  2. Awesome job Brian! We must be ” PR Pals” cause I hit a PR of #225 this morning at 5am. Never having done that weight before, I tried another one just so I knew it wasn’t luck. On the second attempt, I cleaned it and fell forward to my knees. I ended up getting to a lunge position and standing it up. A bit unconventional, but I never dropped the bar. Guess I need to keep working on these……..

    1. Dang! #225 is awesome Greg! Great work fighting through those squat cleans. I think it’s one of those movements none of us are all that comfortable with. Eventually I hope to work my squat clean up to my 1 rep for power clean (195#) but we’ll see how that goes. 🙂 Keep up the great work!!

Leave a Reply

