Double DT Madness

It’s a new week, so it must be time to get back into the box to start it off right. And today’s workout was not one I ever really considered “fun” before, but I’m revising my thoughts on it.

T5ba8ba9ce453ab839662f2f08ccf6efdhis week is going to be nuts, as between my daughters – one has 9 soccer practices and the other has 3. To say that it will add some difficulty to my days is an understatement. I love my girls but am not enamored with soccer at the moment for numerous reasons. That’s neither here nor there however.

Back to crossfit. I made it to the 8:30 class with my wife and youngest daughter today. We were joined by a great crew for Coach Drea – Brent, Carrie, Dee, Connie, Ellen, Melissa, and Andrea.

Started with a 400m jog and then did some squat-to-stands, banded good mornings, marching bridges, and side lunges (not quite Cossack squats, but similar) before going through the progression for today’s Double DT movements: deadlifts, hanging power cleans, and push jerks. We used a PVC pipe for a while and then an unloaded barbell.

Regular DT is five rounds for time of:

  • 155 pound Deadlift, 12 reps
  • 155 pound Hang power clean, 9 reps
  • 155 pound Push jerk, 6 reps

And though I’m a masochist some days, 155# power cleans would kill me. Double DT is all that for 10 rounds instead of just 5. Most of us scaled today.

Barbell_DeadliftI tried 115# and decided that really wasn’t for me. So my scaled Double DT was 10 rounds for time:

  • 95# deadlifts, 9 reps
  • 95# hanging power clean, 6 reps
  • 95# push jerk, 3 reps

We were supposed to shoot for 15 minutes or less. I hit 15:40. Shockingly I was not the last person done with this workout.

Grip on my left hand started to give up by round 5. By round 7 I could hardly hang on to the bar with my left hand and it was a struggle to do the cleans & the jerks. I broke it up where I’d do the 9 deadlifts and drop it, give it a few breaths, and then try and go through the 6 cleans and 3 jerks in one go. For a few rounds at the beginning I went all the way through without dropping. That was silly. 🙂

My wife did 9-6-3 at 85# and finished in 18:39. AJ did 6-4-2 with 45# on the bar. They did awesome. Really everybody did awesome. I don’t think anybody did Rx at 155/105#.

I wish my left forearm didn’t turn into a knot, but it’s something I need to work on. Otherwise I probably could have done it sub 15 at 95#. HA!

So maybe DT isn’t so bad after all… Did I just say that? 🙂

Have a great day folks!

Leave a Reply

