Bonus Workout!

This week has been a mess. I won’t go into details, but let’s just say it’s going to be ugly for the next few days. So I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to work out today or not. I scheduled a class and then removed myself from the schedule because I didn’t think I was going to make it…

Lo and behold – I decided to make it happen. So I made it to a noon class with Coach Drea. Brent and I were joined by Terra and another new member today, which was great.

crossfit-girls-wod-thumb

We started with a 400m jog – which I did, slowly. And when that was done, we jumped into Annie. Annie is one of the named “girls” of Crossfit and not too bad. It’s for time…

  • 50 double-unders (or 100 singles)
  • 50 sit-ups
  • 40 double-unders (80 singles)
  • 40 sit-ups
  • 30 double-unders (60 singles)
  • 30 sit-ups
  • 20 double-unders (40 singles)
  • 20 sit-ups
  • 10 double-unders (20 singles)
  • 10 sit-ups

As you might imagine, I did single-unders. Drea wanted us to shoot for 10 minutes or less. I laughed. It took me 11:10, so not too bad.

11041187_10153302669719648_2090122082587817495_n

Once that was done, we worked on back squats.

  • Back Squat: 3-3-3-3-3

No set values for % of your 1RM or anything here… just do what you feel like. So I felt like starting out slow. This is one of those movements that my slight tear in the groin a few months ago has really slowed down. Last time we tried it I really couldn’t commit and bailed pretty quickly. So I was hopeful that things had improved.

They did. 🙂

  • 135# x3
  • 185# x3
  • 205# x3
  • 225# x3
  • 245# x3

My one rep max is 275# and I feel that I probably could have pushed to have done 265# three times – though not very quickly. But I was happy with a better-than-bodyweight squat – thank you very much.

And once that was all done we did a bit of work with rolling an empty barbell into the quad above the knee (actually helped quite a bit – was quite sore) while other folks worked on hamstring stretches.

I don’t know if I’m going to make it tomorrow or not. We’ll see. But Saturday we’re going to try and make the team workout and then help with the move a little bit to see the new location. Looking forward to a new era of Crossfit Continuum!

Great work today everybody – have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

