12 minutes of Thrusters!

Following the Advocare 24-Day Challenge I am finding myself slipping back into a familiar routine. Coffee in the morning. A beer sometimes in the evening (or more when I manage a night out with my wife). And not enough food. The regular meals, supplements, and snacks have begun to fall away.

tuesday-show-up
Apparently Not Any More

I don’t want to go back to the strict regimine of the challenge, but I definitely need to find a better way to proceed. So I’m dropping coffee again during the week starting tomorrow in favor of using Spark. And I’ll drop alcohol during the week and keep it to a minimum (last weekend was special because it was the first in a while I got to go out on a date or two with my wife sans children, so we indulged a bit).

Not sure any of this matters to those of you who follow the blog, but I’ve noticed that my morning mental state has returned to the default “grump” setting gradually. And today was the last straw. No relief from the morning coffee and definitely not a happy start. Some of that may be work, but I’ve had better days even factoring that in.

So… that all said and done, we did make it to crossfit this morning for an 8:30 class with Coach Larry. Might be my last one for the week depending on how things shape up, but we’ll see how it goes. I went along with my wife and two girls and we were joined by Jonathan, Danielle, Carrie, Ellen, Deb, Melissa, and Connie.

7TaonKRbcStarted with a 400m jog and then did some wall balls, a 30 second hollow body hold on the floor, some squat to stands, and push-ups.

Then we worked on a bit of skills work…

  • 3×10 Bent over Barbell Row
  • 3×10 Banded Good Mornings
  • 3 sets of side planks (30 seconds per side)

I did the first set of barbell rows with a 45# bar and the next two sets with 75#. Did my banded good mornings with a thin blue band. And did two sets of side planks with a straight arm and the last set on my elbows. That was a bit spicy for the shoulders.

From there it was time for the day’s metcon – a 12 minute AMRAP:

  • 10 thrusters (115/80# Rx, 95/65# Level II)
  • 25 double-unders (or 2x singles with at least 5 attempts at double unders)

Warming up to my weight for thrusters, my right shoulder popped with 75# on the bar so I decided 95# would be better than 115#. And I’m glad I did. 10 reps in a row, even at 95#, was a bit of a challenge. I did the first set unbroken, but the rest were broken into 5 and 5 or 4 + 3 + 3 or 2 + 4 + 4. Whatever I could do, I did.

January 21, 2016 at 0141PM (1)I made it through 4 full rounds plus 1 thruster. I didn’t do any double-under practice in that last set of 50 singles, but I really wanted to finish and try and get a little extra in. I was aiming for 4 rounds and got that plus a rep, so I was happy.

Ev did 65# I think and got through 4+30. Mickey made it through 4 rounds with a 45# bar and managed 3 double unders in a row at one point (with her new rope). And AJ got through 3 full rounds + 10 with a 35# bar and double-under practice + singles.

Jonathan got through 6 rounds, which was impressive considering the weight. He rocked it. And everyone else did awesome as well.

It was a tough one. I was gassed at the end. And my shoulders are fried. Yay team.

I’m really hopeful that I’ll get another workout in this week, but it’s not looking good. Keep your fingers crossed or next week will be a do-over at the new box location starting on July 20 or so. 🙂

Have a great day folks!

Leave a Reply

