Hello, Jackie

Even after tearing my hands on Tuesday, I was ready to get back to the box today. I just hoped against hope that there weren’t any pull-ups in the mix. Well, my hopes were dashed.

Got there for an 8:30 workout with my family (Ev, Mickey, and AJ) to find Coach Bill getting stuff set up for us. And, as always, we had a great group to train with… Ellen, Connie, Andrea, Caleb, and Ray. So it was another fun group. 🙂

IMG959232We started with a 400m run and came back in to do a few things… wall balls, jumping (or full) pull-ups, some low and slow air squats, a 30 second hollow body hold on the bar, and 10 overhead plate presses. The pull-ups and bar hold hurt my hands like hell but everything else was ok.

From there we did a little thruster practice with an empty bar and talked about the skill work. We were doing two parts to the workout – some skill work and Jackie (a metcon). We divided into two heats and that worked out just fine. I did Jackie first with Andrea, Ray, and Connie.

I don’t remember doing Jackie before, but it’s an interesting little workout for time:

  • 1,000 meter row
  • 50 thrusters (empty 45#/35# bar)
  • 30 pull-ups

To save my hands, I chose to do ring rows instead of pull-ups (especially after the pain I felt on the bar during the warm-ups). But it was the thrusters that gave me the most trouble. Somehow after all the pull-ups and push-ups this week my biceps were really sore – so the squat part of the thruster went ok, but the overhead part did not. As a result I was breaking it up in weird sets.

jackie1But I managed to complete the whole thing with ring rows in 11:58. Not my best work, but it’s in the books.

Ev finished in a bit over 11 minutes I think. And the girls weren’t too far beyond us.

After that we did the skill work:

  • 3×10 Bulgarian split squats
  • 3×10 Side lunges
  • 3×20 Kettlebell swings

Apparently I can’t read because I only did 3 sets of 10 Kettlebell swings (53#). But the split squats were a challenge (even without weight) due to my lack of balance. It was a struggle.

And when all that was done, we had time for about 1/2 of the ROMWOD for the day.

We were finishing up when the 9:30 class came in – Monica & Dan, Lisa, Deana, Adrienne (and Jayda of course), and Dee. Might have been a couple of other folks as well. But I’m sure they had a good time with Bill.

This one was a challenge for me, but I guess that’s a good thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

