The WOD to Tear

So after a weekend of doing workouts that lasted nearly and hour and over an hour, what should I find on the first workout of the week? Something that causes me to tear even with wearing my Handband Pro’s. Geez.

This weekend we did a team Fight Gone Bad WOD where my daughters and I managed over 1300 reps on Saturday and a holiday workout (1776) where we did 1776 reps on Monday, I somehow managed not to tear or hurt myself more than just getting muscle sore. And I was patting myself on the back. Sore I could handle.

Today was a different story.

4563911I went to a 9:30 workout with my daughters. Coach Stacy was in charge and we had a pretty good group…  Deana, Bri, Karen, Dan & Monica, Dee, Adrienne and Jayda. Jayda (a very good dog) helped on some of the running and stretching but supervised during the workout itself. And we saw the 8:30 class finishing up – Jonathan, Ellen and Larry were still going as we started to warm up.

We started with a 400m run and came back in for some squat-to-stands, pigs on skates, towel ring outs, and Superman to Hollow Body rolls. I consider the last one to be the “dead fish flop” because that’s what I look like when I do them.

Once that was done, we did some Turkish get-ups, a new move called the Windmill, and some plank holds. I did the first two with a 15# dumbbell. It wouldn’t have mattered if I had done them with no weight, but I don’t think I pulled anything this time. Last time we did Turkish get-ups I pulled my groin, so I was a little cautious today.

  • 2×5 Turkish Get-ups
  • 2×5 Windmills
  • 2×60 second plank hold (extend a leg for 15 seconds, alternating)

We’ve never done the Windmill before but here’s a video:

Definitely an interesting stretch. I have little flexibility in either direction, so definitely something to work on!

Then the real “fun” began. Today we did a metcon that mixed pull-ups, push-ups, and rowing. Can I just say… ouch.

c2bThe Rx version was:

  • 75 pull-ups
  • 500m row (or 400m run if rower not available)
  • 75 push-ups
  • 500m row
  • 50 pull-ups
  • 500m row
  • 50 push-ups
  • 500m row
  • 25 pull-ups
  • 500m row
  • 25 push-ups
  • 500m row

Level II was:

  • 60/30/15 pull-ups and push-ups
  • 500m rows in-between

Level I was:

  • 35/25/15 ring rows and knee push-ups
  • 300m rows in between (or 200m run if rower not available)

I chose to go with Level II and it went like this:

  • 20160705_12162545 pull-ups, tore, 15 ring rows
  • 400m run
  • 45 push-ups (regular) plus 15 from knees
  • 400m run
  • 30 ring rows
  • 500m row
  • 30 push-ups from knees
  • 400m run
  • 15 ring rows
  • 500m row
  • 15 push-ups from knees
  • 500m row

 

I knew this was going to be a bear. There’s no way to do that number of pull-ups or push-ups without something going wrong. I tore. Mickey has been torn for several days now. And even AJ tore.

IMAG0401We survived. Mickey finished Level II with ring rows in 30:39. AJ finished Level 1 with banded pull-ups in 36:49. And I finished Level II as I detailed in 40:24.

Everybody did awesome. I think Dan might have been the only one of us doing the Rx version and he was humming right along. But the whole crew pushed through.

Great work! And thanks Stacy for keeping us moving!

Tomorrow is a rest day. Thank goodness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

