A little Mary for Monday

So I skipped Friday’s workout but did an hour of yoga with my family over at Crossfit 719 with yogi Ridds on Saturday. Had another rest day yesterday and knew it was time to head back to the box today!

14ozcrToday we were going for a new 1RM squat snatch and then doing Mary XXX, which I will describe shortly. The whole Fitzpatrick clan made it in today to work with Coaches Larry & Drea: myself, Ev, Mickey, and AJ. We were joined by a large crew – Deana, Jenny, Debbie, Monica, Daniel, Dee, Connie, Melissa, and Lisa. And we saw the 8:30 crew finishing up when we came in.

Larry had us start with a 400m run and then we did some shoulder mobility – PVC pass thrus of a couple of types, some Sotz press, and then some overhead squats before starting to work on our squat snatches.

We had 12 minutes to work to a new 1RM for the squat snatch. We’ve been working on it for a while, but I’m still fairly uncomfortable with any of the squat movements (squat clean, squat snatch, etc.). I started with 95# on the bar, bumped it to 115# and fell on my butt before getting it up once. Bumped it to 125# and failed the first time before getting it the second time pretty smoothly. And then I attempted 135# a few times to no avail.

snatch5So my new 1RM max squat snatch is 125#. My 1RM max hanging power snatch is 145#. Eventually the two may meet. 🙂

Once that was done, we set up for Mary XXX. It’s a 20 minute AMRAP set up like this:

  • 10 handstand push-ups
  • 20 single-leg squats, alternating
  • 30 pull-ups
  • 15 handstand push-ups
  • 30 single-leg squats, alternating
  • 45 pull-ups
  • 20 handstand push-ups
  • 40 single-leg squats, alternating
  • 60 pull-ups
  • 25 handstand push-ups
  • 50 single-leg squats, alternating
  • 75 pull-ups
  • 30 handstand push-ups
  • 60 single-leg squats, alternating
  • 90 pull-ups

That’s the Rx version. I did level II, which was:

  • 5 handstand push-ups
  • 10 single-leg squats, alternating
  • 10 pull-ups
  • 10 handstand push-ups
  • 20 single-leg squats, alternating
  • 25 pull-ups
  • 15 handstand push-ups
  • 30 single-leg squats, alternating
  • 40 pull-ups
  • 20 handstand push-ups
  • 40 single-leg squats, alternating
  • 55 pull-ups
  • 25 handstand push-ups
  • 50 single-leg squats, alternating
  • 70 pull-ups

But I revised the single-leg squats (which I can’t do unless I’m on the rig or going to a box) to what replaced it in the level I version – 10 walking lunges, alternating.

pablo (4)Here’s what I managed:

  • 5 HSPU
  • 10 alternating walking lunges
  • 10 pull-ups
  • 10 HSPU
  • 20 alternating walking lunges
  • 25 pull-ups
  • 15 HSPU
  • 30 alternating walking lunges
  • and 20 of the 40 pull-ups
  • Total = 145 reps

I’m definitely not fast. But I felt pretty good through everything but the pull-ups after that first round. I even managed strict HSPUs on a 15# plate with an ab mat without killing myself. Those pull-ups though… After a while, doing 5 in a row was a challenge.

That said, I kept on moving. One rep at a time.

Great work everybody!

Leave a Reply

