Deadlifts and Hang Power Cleans! Yes!

Some days a workout comes along that you bump into and say… yes, I think I will!

We’ve been cramming a lot more into our workouts lately. Usually there’s two or three parts and we’re scrambling to get equipment out, put it away, move around, and so on…  Usually there’s a metcon of some variety at the end. And I’m not ashamed to say I’ve been sucking pretty badly by the time I get to them.

167fufToday is the first time in quite a while I’ve looked at the combination of movements and not been dreading the metcon at the end. I’d like to say it’s a trend, but at this point it’s more of an anomaly than anything else. 🙂

We arrived for the 8:30 class with Coach Stacy today and it was another hopping class. We had Adrienne, Melissa M, Ellen, David, Jonathan & Sarah, Stacy’s sister, and the four of us plus one other person. It was a good sized class and we dove in quickly.

The warm-up was:

  • 400m run
  • one-legged squats
  • max hold on rings
  • Cossack squats
  • back strokes (arm circles)
  • iron cross, knee twists on floor

After that we warmed up a bit on hanging power cleans with a PVC pipe and then got started.

power-clean-tech

The workout was a 12 minute EMOM:

  • 3 hang power cleans (AHAP)

I warmed up with 95# and 125# before jumping to 135# for the workout. Once I got going, I think I did pretty well. I hit the “weightless” feeling after the shrug a few times. And this is definitely one of my favorite movements.

After that we did:

  • 3×15 Partner Med Ball Toss

I tossed a 20# medicine ball with David. One of us was on the floor and the other stood in front. We’d pretty much do a wall ball sit-up but instead of bouncing the ball off the wall we would have our partner catch it and toss it back to us. First set went fast. Second set slower. Third set went faster just because we were pressed for time. 🙂

Barbell_Deadlift

And lastly we did:

  • 5 rounds for max reps of:
  • 1 ½ body-weight deadlifts
  • Ring dips

Um. My one rep max for Deadlifts is 355#. My current body weight is 235#, so that would be 353#. I don’t think I can do that 5x, which was kind of the guideline on this workout. Last time I went for a 1RM I only got back to 255# (shortly after my groin pull). So I decided I’d go with 275# today. And that felt pretty good.

So I went with:

  • 275# deadlifts
  • ring dips

I hit:

  • 5-5-3-4-1 (18) for my five sets of deadlifts
  • 5-4-4-4-4 (21) for my five sets of ring dips
  • Total reps: 39

Honestly I am quite happy with doing 275# nearly 20x. My grip on the left side started giving up a bit at the end and that’s why I had to drop. Not sure if I needed more chalk, but I suspect it was similar to the issue I had yesterday with the hanging squat cleans.

167g3n

Definitely need to work on that a bit.

But it was a full hour of crossfit for sure. Stacy had us keep chugging right along through all of it. 🙂 Thanks Stacy!

And great work everybody! I know my wife killed the deadlifts. And Jonathan did 300# something like 26 times.

It was a good day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

