Losing my grip

It definitely feels like a Monday. I had a great weekend and survived the presentation I had to give for work and suddenly I was out of oomph. The wind went out of my sails. The batteries died. Something crashed, hard.

So what do I do? Drink some Spark and head off to CrossFit Continuum for a noon class – th0511-1005-0201-0040_Black_and_White_Vintage_Cartoon_of_a_Man_Asleep_at_His_Desk_clipart_imageat’s what. 🙂

I’m not convinced that it helped however.

We had a good mix of kids and adults in the noon class with Drea. It was myself, AJ, and Mickey, plus Melissa and her kids, Mike (in town from Tucson this week), Kelli’s son, Drea’s boys, and a couple of other folks. Coach Stacy stepped in to help with the kids too, so we had a few folks roaming the box helping out.

We started with a 400m run, some Cossack squats, some thoracic high fives, and a handstand hold – then moved to some overhead squat work with a PVC pipe before warming up with a bar for the first part of the workout…

  • EOMOM (Ever Other Minute on the Minute) x 12: 3 overhead squats (AHAP – as heavy as possible)

snatch5OHS are not my favorite movements, but I have been making improvements with them – so I started at 75#, added to 95#, and then added more to 105#. I definitely could have gone heavier, but I felt pretty comfortable doing three reps at that weight. My one rep max is 135#, so I suspect that may go up soonish.

After that however, I ran into issues. The second part of the workout was a metcon:

  • 21-15-9 reps for time (12 minute cap)
  • 115/75# hanging squat cleans
  • chest-to-bar pull-ups

I put 115# on the bar, did one squat clean, and dropped it to 95#. Squat cleans are not my forte. And I put two skinny blue bands up to help with banded chest-to-bars. I managed a couple during the warm-up and thought I was good to go.

My adjustment was going to be the level 2 scheme.

  • 21-15-9 for hang squat cleans
  • 15-9-6 for banded chest to bar pull-ups

c2bWell, it didn’t go according to plan. The 21 squat cleans took a long time and then I couldn’t get into my double band for the pull-ups. Seriously I couldn’t figure out how to pull the band down and get my foot into it – nothing was working. So I switched to kipping pull-ups.  Adapt or die.

My next problem? My grip. I have been fighting some serious mobility issues with my front rack position where my pinky fingers won’t stay on the bar – and today it was the last two fingers on my left hand that simply gave up. I’m not sure why, but I need to figure it out quickly.

As a result, I was having issues just hanging onto the bar for cleans. I’d do one, have to drop it, and reset again.

Not my finest hour of crossfit. But oh well. I am fighting my body one way or another in every workout. This is just the latest battle.

Everyone else killed it. The kids flew through the metcon with empty bars and lots of banded pull-ups. And even Mike, adjusting to altitude, did awesome.

So life is good. Tomorrow is another day. And we’ll move on. 🙂

Thanks Drea & Stacy!

Leave a Reply

