The Step-up Sequel No One Wanted

Though I’ve never seen any of the Step Up movies, I’m sure none of them involved a plyo box. 🙂 My morning was spent struggling to find motivation and I was hopeful I might find it at crossfit… but how did that go?

rogue-black-med-ball-web6_1Today’s players:

  • Coach Drea
  • Katie & Kelly

Today’s warm-up:

  • 400m run/500m row
  • Two rounds of:
    • 10 med ball cleans
    • 10 downward dog push-ups
    • 10 med ball push-ups

Today’s workout:

  • 5×3 Clean and Jerk (As Heavy As Possible)
  • 3×10 Front Rack Step-Ups
  • For Time: 100 Push-ups

The results… Well… Turns out that mobility was a huge impediment today. My wrists and forearms took a long time to free up to the point where I could grip the bar with anything close to a full hand (my pinkies wouldn’t keep a grip).

  • Clean & Jerk – started with 145# and couldn’t do more than just squat clean it, so I dropped to 135# and slowly worked through some awkward squat cleans and split jerks
  • Front rack step-ups – dropped to 95# and stacked up a bunch of plates in an attempt to try and save my already angry left knee. The stack was maybe 15 inches tall (three 45s and a couple of 35s). Did three sets of 10 reps each and attempted to alternate legs but probably led with the right (less angry) knee more than the left.

PushupAnd then the push-ups… Ugh. My 100 sit-ups for time was less aggravating the other day.

It took me 13:15 to finish 100 push-ups and the last 20 were off my knees. I started running out of strength quickly. The first 50 went ok, but the last 50…

  • 10-5-5-5-5-5-3-2-3-2-3-2…-1-2-1-2-1…

It was not pretty. Katie was kind enough to offer to do some push-ups with me but I kind of shooed her off (sorry Katie) because nobody needed to do more push-ups than they already did. Both Katie & Kelly were done in around 10 minutes (maybe less). But I struggled more than a little with that movement, as per usual.

My third not-pretty workout of the week. But I moved at least. 🙂

Thank you Katie, Kelly, and Drea for the encouragement. It definitely helped today! Great work and a fun class. Entertaining chat as always!

Have a great day everybody!

 

Leave a Reply

