Good, Not Bad, and Ugly

After yesterday’s shoulder issues I wasn’t sure how today was going to go, but thanks to the power of a decent night’s sleep, some Deep Blue, and ibuprofen, it felt fine again today. I knew better than to push my luck and abuse it too badly, but I definitely felt I should go continue to get some movement into my day.

So at 9:30am I headed out for a class with Coach Larry. This is the first time Larry has taught a whole class I’ve been a part of, but he’s been working up to it. And he did an awesome job. πŸ™‚

I found the 8:30 class finishing up when I got there. Hillary, Dan, Melissa, Todd, and Connie were wrapping up. And for the 9:30 class we had Ashley, Kelly, Shauna, Carrie, Jenny, and Melissa S. Drea was there to help out too and observe Larry in the wild, so to speak. πŸ™‚

exmilitaryshoulderpresstopWe started with a 400m jog (not too bad), and then did some bridge-ups, single-leg deadlifts, and some downward dog push-ups before doing some warm-up work with a PVC pipe on push-press, overhead squat, and deadlifts.

From then on, we were off to the races…

We started with another EMOM…

  • EMOM for 8 minutes: 3 push-press (AHAP = as heavy as possible)

I honestly wasn’t sure how this was going to go after the shoulder issues yesterday. But we gave it a shot. 135# felt pretty good for the first couple of rounds, so I added 20# to make it 155# and stuck with that for the rest. Larry was pointing out my tendency to arch my back on the push, so I worked on just standing straight up – which I had a bit better by the end.

Next up we had a simple metcon…

  • 100 butterfly sit-ups with a 5 minute time cap

I don’t remember if I’ve mentioned the “Damn It Monica” post-WOD workout we do sometimes… She’ll recruit a few folks after a workout she’s in and we’ll do 100 sit-ups for time. It’s always a struggle, but it prepared me for today – so thank you Monica. πŸ™‚

Managed to break it up into 25 rep sets and get through the whole thing in 4:50. Had a little wiggle room to spare, but not much. That said – I was happy to get through it under the time cap!

snatch5Then we did the third part of the workout. Like yesterday, this was the worst part of it for me. It was…

  • 21-15-9
  • Deadlifts: 225/155#
  • Overhead squats: 135/95#

Nope, wasn’t digging this one because of the overhead squats and the fact that they wanted the deadlifts to be touch and go, not one and drop.

We adjusted it a bit:

  • Deadlift: 205#
  • OHS: 75#

Got through the first round of 21 deadlifts with 11 + 5 + 5. But the OHS were a struggle. I’d get through 3-5 reps and have to drop for any number of reasons, but mostly stability. Larry helped a bit, but noticed I have a strange hitch where I’m hunched forward as I’m standing up with the bar.

(I was also struggling with what I think is a caffeine-withdrawal headache for this part of the workout. It felt like someone was pounding a nail through my forehead. Not very awesome, but I kept chugging as best I could. This is just a side-effect of dropping coffee during the Advocare 24-day Challenge so we’ll see how long it takes to shake it.)

I honestly suspect that the issue Larry spotted still boils down to a strength & mobility issue between my right and left shoulder. In order to do any locked out, wide-grip position I tend to lock my right shoulder and elbow and that enables my left arm to kind of follow it. It’s never a bilateral lock out, but it’s as close as I’ve managed. I think that actually cocks the right arm back a bit further than the left arm, which means I’m at an odd angle.

Barbell_DeadliftNot sure if it’s due to the shoulders or the left hip/knee, but the struggle is real. I can do it, but it’s not pretty by any stretch.

But here’s how far I got:

  • 21 deadlifts
  • 21 OHS
  • 15 deadlifts
  • 10 OHS

Ran out of time. In reality I got to 10 OHS at 9:45 and could have tried some more, but everything was hurting at that point and I was out of oomph.

Cleaned up the bars, did a little mobility, and headed home.

Post-workout, my shoulder feels fine but my left knee is very cranky. I’ve put some Deep Blue on it to see if that helps, but so far it’s not doing a whole heck of a lot.

Tomorrow will be a rest day however, so maybe it will get a little less cranky. πŸ™‚

Thanks Larry for a great class and great work everybody!

Leave a Reply

