Advocare 24-Day Challenge: Day 1

Apologies in advance for anyone who is reading this going “why am I reading this?”. It’s not going to be exciting. It’s diet-and-supplement related. And I’m doing it largely as a reset to our diet, which has gone back to the old ways of eating bread, cheese, and consuming alcohol. So we’ll try and get better for a bit and see how this works.

advocare-24-day-challenge-logoMy wife Evelyn has done it a couple of times in the past and didn’t have a lot of luck – but honestly we weren’t doing it together and I think it’s harder to do a proper diet if you are the only one on it. I’m hopeful that it works better for her, but curious to see how it does for me. We’ve seen other folks have great success with it at our box, so maybe it’ll be a good thing.

At any rate… Today is Day 1 on the Advocare 24-Day Challenge.

No coffee will be consumed, which will be a challenge in and of itself. In its place, in moderation, I’ll add some Advocare Spark and Catalyst as needed.

Starting weight: 240.6 lbs. Yes, I’ve become quite heavy again. And sure, some of that may be muscle – but a good portion of it is the gut that has redeveloped around my mid-section. I affectionately refer to it as my “Pony Keg” hiding my 6-pack abs, but it’s time to lose some or all of it again.

At my lightest when we were doing strict paleo a few years ago I got all the way down to 201, but that felt too light honestly. I wasn’t eating enough at that point. So we’ll see how this adjustment goes. My goal is to get back down to 220 or maybe even 210/215. But I really don’t want to drop below that.

And no, I’m not planning on dropping 30 pounds in 24 days – that would be ridiculous. Perhaps I’ll lose a few pounds, but I’m not expecting the moon here.

Here’s how the plan has gone today…

Apparently I’m supposed to drink 120 oz of water. That’s a lot of water.

  • 16 oz with Spark
  • 16 oz with Fiber
  • 16 oz with Breakfast
  • 16 oz after Breakfast
  • 16 oz during workout
  • 12 oz with my progenex recovery shake
  • 16 oz with my meal replacement shake
  • 16 oz in the afternoon
  • 16 oz with dinner
  • 16 oz after dinner
  • Total so far: 140 oz

I’m peeing like a race horse. And my head began to pound (coffee withdrawals) about 11. Ugh.

And here’s the rest of the agenda…

  • 6:15 am – 16 oz. water plus Spark, plus Probiotic pack
  • 6:50 am – 16 oz water plus fiber pack
  • 7:10 am – Breakfast (2 eggs, potato, green onion, ketchup) plus a banana and another 16 oz of water.
  • 9:45 am – Snack (another banana and some almond butter)
  • 12 pm – CrossFit workout – 60 mins
  • 1:20 pm – Progenex Recovery shake (12 oz)
  • 2:00 pm – Meal Replacement shake (16 oz)
  • 3:30 pm – Catalyst + a handful of cashews
  • 4:00 pm – crash – hard
  • 6:45 pm – dinner – Paleo Pizza (Peperoni & Mushroom) (recipe)
  • 7:15 pm – fish oils
  • 7:30 pm – square of chocolate
  • 9:00 pm – herbal supplement for evening
  • 10:11 pm – lights out

Oh, and the Advocare 24-day Challenge app for Android… Not worth my time. I signed up for it a day earlier thinking I’d be ready to go this morning. Wouldn’t let me start the challenge AFTER I’d signed up for the app. Apparently I had to choose which version of the challenge I was doing during the sign-up process. Who knew.

Anyway, that’s uninstalled and I’m doing it the old fashioned way… with pen and paper. šŸ™‚

Next up… day 2!

Leave a Reply

