My First Competition

After a week on vacation where I did zero crossfit (but managed to do a 5 mile hike, kayak for a couple of hours, and do a half day rafting trip), it was time for another new experience to add to my list. My first crossfit competition.

I’ll warn you ahead of time… this is a long post. 🙂

Now, this was an in-house competition at our box Crossfit Continuum. Friendly faces. Familiar coaches as judges. A bit like the CrossFit Open “Friday Night Lights” we did during the Open, but with prizes and a bit more intensity. We had a great turnout – with maybe 20 teams in the mix. We were paired up with one guy and one gal in most cases and most were in the “Rx” division and a few were in the “Scaled” division, but it really didn’t matter. We yelled, hooted, and hollered for everybody. 🙂

I was a little intimidated by the idea of a competition, so this was a good way to try it out. That said, our teams were randomly assigned and I was teamed up with Kierstie, who is one of the badasses at our box. She’s strong, fast, and persistent. I’m slow, somewhat hesitant, and a little strong. 🙂 It was definitely going to be a push and that definitely wasn’t a bad thing.

We arrived this morning for athlete check-in at 7am. My wife and both daughters were also competing, so it was the whole crew of Fitz’s arriving to sign in and get our numbers. I can’t remember any other time when I’ve had numbers written on me in magic marker. Kierstie and I were team 13. Lucky 13!

And in every different workout, Kierstie and I were set up in the third heat. We had plenty of time to watch what other teams were doing and come up with workable strategies. I think the biggest thing was the “Just Keep Moving” approach. And that worked really well.

13405200_10100210109605713_2078724318_o

The first workout was not all that fun. 🙂 We had a 15 minute time cap to finish 5 rounds of:

  • 200m Run with Medicine Ball (20#/14#)
  • 20 Alternating Box Jumps, 24” (or step-ups)
  • 20 Wall Balls each Partner

Now, I am happy to say that in our heat Kierstie and I came in first and picked our box for box jumps. After that first round it kind of went downhill for me. Running isn’t a strong suit (duh) and running with a 20# medicine ball… ugh. We got all the way through the first round and headed outside and I couldn’t run, but I did keep moving at a steady walking pace.

By the time we got into the 3rd round, I was having circulation issues with my legs. My right foot and calf somehow managed to fall asleep. Yes, asleep. Nothing fun about trying to figure out how to get one leg up and then stand all the way up. But we got as far as Kierstie doing 20 wall balls before we ran out of time.

13405631_10100210109640643_1775039669_o

Not my finest moment, but I didn’t let it slow me down much. I was already slow enough. 🙂

There was a “floater” workout that involved a rower, so Kierstie and I headed outside to do that about 30 minutes after we were done with the first workout.

  • 5 minute time cap to complete: Max Effort 500m Row Pull­ Split Time

Basically you pulled as hard as you could to try and get as fast a time as you could on the little rower display. Kierstie did awesome and got a 1:29 split time and I eventually managed a 1:18 (after getting 1:19 twice). And honestly I was fired up after that – we knew we had one of the faster times, so hopefully it would help us out in the rankings a bit.

The second workout was a bit more up my alley.  We had a 12 minute time cap to complete:

  • 50 Burpees onto a 35# plate… then…
  • Max effort clean by both team members

We did the 50 burpees in less than 3 minutes, then tackled the cleans. We used a women’s bar and started with 125#. By the time we were done, I managed 195# and Kierstie did 165# or 175# (my brain by that point was fried, so I don’t remember – sorry). I attempted 205# three or four times but just didn’t have it in me.

January 21, 2016 at 0141PM (1)

Then it was lunch time – a good break to get some food, drink, and rest up for the final event.

The final workout had a 10 minute time cap:

  • 20 sumo deadlift high pulls (95/65#)
  • 20 shoulder-to-overhead
  • 20 front squats
  • 20 thrusters
  • 20 overhead squats

And to make things more interesting, we had a EMOM of 1 burpee for each minute… so when 1 minute rolled around, we did 1 burpee… 2 minutes, 2 burpees, etc.

Our strategy here was to do as much as possible before tagging out and just keep moving, so that’s what we did. I banged out 20 SDHPs, she did 20 shoulder-to-overheads, and we got that done in the 1st minute, did a burpee, and kept on going. I was thankful that she did the majority of the overhead squats at the end (I did 2 and she did 18) – I was struggling quite a bit by then. But we were the first team done in our heat coming in under 4 minutes. And I was ecstatic. Not only were we done, but we finished top in our heat. Woot!

We cheered everybody on throughout the competition and had a great time. Have to say we were all pretty exhausted when we were done, but that was ok – we worked hard and deserved to be tired. 🙂

A few other things to note:

  • My 15-year old daughter managed a new PR in her cleans… 105#.
  • My 11-year old daughter managed a new PR as well, hitting 80#.
  • My wife hit her old PR of 105# and I hit mine of 195#.
  • And our friend Danielle managed a 135# clean PR as well!

So VERY proud of my kids – they did a phenomenal job. And my wife was a fighter from beginning to end. She got frustrated at more than a few points, but she never gave up. Proud of her too.

These were just a FEW of the many PRs that people were hitting today. It was a day for pushing boundaries. We have many amazing folks at the box and I was happy just to compete and come in somewhere in the middle of the pack. Yay team #13. 😉

So there you have it… Hopefully we’ll have some pictures I can share – they took a ton today and I hope we’ll see them soon. I didn’t get any myself. 😦 (The two pictures I posted in the article are from Jonathan – thanks Jonathan!!)

Our coaching staff put on a heck of a competition I think. We had great workouts that allowed everybody to do a good chunk of common movements. And we had a great cross-section of our box come in to compete.

It was a great day. 🙂

Will I be doing more competitions? Who knows? But if we have a 2nd Annual “Coaches Cup” at our box next year, I plan on joining in the fun!

A huge thank you goes out to Kierstie who put up with me as her partner. 🙂

A huge congratulations to all the winners who did amazingly well.

And another huge thank you goes to Drea, Jimmy, Stacy, Ray, Isaac, Clare, Katie, and everybody else who helped set up, tear down, and judge.

Great job everybody!!

Leave a Reply

