Shoulder your EMOM

Yesterday was Murph. We survived. Life is good.

Today we’re back to the usual routine. Work a bit. Work out a bit. Back to work… But today starts summer vacation for the squirrels, so they tagged along. And because summer break has begun in earnest, we had a full class today for the tag team pair of Coach Stacy & Coach Larry.

snatch5What does that mean? That we had fun like we always do. 🙂

So it was Ev, Mickey, AJ, and I, Stacy & Larry, Sarah, Ellen, Jenny, Melissa & Todd, Danielle, Connie, Ray & Melissa, Ashley, Lisa, and a few new faces. Bodies everywhere. Probably 15 or more of us all together.

We started with a 400m jog, then did some thoracic high fives, bridge-ups, Spider-man lunges, and snatch press balance with a PVC pipe… but then the fun began. We did a lot of squat snatch movements and a few overhead squats (with PVC pipes) to not only remember the movements but warm everything up in the process. Stacy & Larry tag-teamed with Ray as the demonstration model.

The first part of the workout was a 12 minute EMOM for strength.

  • 1 Squat Snatch + 1 Overhead Squat As Heavy as Possible

I probably would have tried 115#, but after frying shoulders during Murph I decided that 95# was plenty heavy – especially for combination overhead movements. And I’m glad I did. It was a struggle a few times, though I only had two rounds of the 12 where I either had to do a power snatch, then a squat, then an overhead squat after that – or failed outright at the first snatch and then did a power snatch, squatted it, then did an OHS.

Olympic weightsBut we got through it.

When that was done, we moved on to the day’s conditioning work. An 8 minute AMRAP of:

  • Shoulder (Strict) Press #115/80
  • Each time the bar hits the ground, perform 50 double unders or 50 singles

With already-fragged shoulders, I knew this was going to be a major challenge so I banged out as many as I could to start at 95#. Did 10, 5 + 5 with a rest in the middle where the bar didn’t hit the ground, then 5, a break, and 5 more with another break. All in all I was out jumping rope three times, though I didn’t quite finish the last round of 50.

So I got through 30 reps total, but it was a big push towards the end. The last one I did was ugly as sin.

When we were all done, we cleaned up and did a little mobility before heading to the four winds. Thank goodness tomorrow is a rest day for me. Maybe my shoulders will forgive me for all the abuse. 🙂

Great work everybody! Fun working out with Ray and the rest of the gang! And thanks Stacy & Larry for the guidance today!

Leave a Reply

