Hanging with Toes to Bar…

Morning folks. Time for another fine day of work and crossfit. πŸ™‚

I have a standing 9am meeting every week that I now attend every other week because I don’t need to be there, so I made it to an 8:30 class at CrossFit Continuum this morning for the day’s workout. We had Coach Bill today along with a fun group of folks, Ev & I, Danielle, Larry, Sarah, Todd & Melissa, Lisa, and a couple of new folks whose names I don’t have in my head yet (and they didn’t check in so they don’t show up in the list on the schedule, so I can’t cheat!).

We started with a nice 400m jog and came back in for some med ball work. We did some med ball cleans with a small indoor lap included and then did musical med balls. I was the first one out, so I put stuff away while I watched the madness. πŸ™‚

20160526_091429When that was done Β we grabbed an unloaded bar and went through some hang power clean and hang power snatch progressions (shoulder shrug, high pull, drop under) and worked on our hook grip. I’m getting the hang of the hook grip for clean-type grips but not for wide grips. My hands don’t quite have the strength for holding that way in that direction yet – but I’ll get there. πŸ™‚

We had 10 minutes each for:

  • 3 sets of 5 hanging power cleans
  • 3 sets of 5 hanging power snatches

For the cleans I did:

  • 95# x2 (to warm up)
  • 115# x5
  • 135# x5
  • 155# (failed on the pull, so dropped weight)
  • 145# x5

For the snatches I did:

  • 95# x5
  • 115# x4
  • 115# x4

20160526_091435The heavier weight is a challenge on anything with a wide grip, but we made it work sometimes. I could definitely tell when I got the pull right – it made things SOOO much easier.

And once that was done, we had:

  • 50 toes-to-bar or v-ups for time (with a 20 minute cap)

I was pondering the time cap when I started. But I banged out 10 ugly T2B in a couple of minutes. But my grip was failing and I was struggling to get both feet on the bar. So I switched to even uglier V-ups which might as well have been knees to elbows flat on my back on the floor because that’s what they looked like.

Took me 4:47 to get through 10 T2B and 40 ugly V-ups. That’s a lot less than the 10 minutes or more it would have taken to get all the T2B done.

That said – I was laughing because it took me until the T2B to realize that I was wearing my tennis shoes, not my crossfit shoes. Oops. Made it 40+ minutes into the workout before I figured that out. Maybe I was a little tired this morning.

So that made me laugh. πŸ™‚

But we made it through and I felt good for more of the hanging movements than I expected, so I’ll take it as a win!

Hope everybody has a great day! Good work today!

Leave a Reply

