What’s with all the squat cleans?

Yes, you heard me… What’s with all the darn squat cleans of late? Geez! Give me a hanging power clean or a power clean, but please don’t make me squat under it. 🙂

Made it in for another 8:30 class this morning with Coach Drea and we had quite the crew… Ev and I, Carrie, Larry, Jenny, Melissa, Adrienne, Danielle, Melissa (Coach), Ronnie, Anne, and Caleb. There were people everywhere!

Olympic weightsWe started with a 400m jog (no snake today) and then with a medicine ball at the ready we did some squat-to-stands, med ball cleans, and downward dog as a group before diving into the squat clean and split jerk with an unloaded barbell. We focused more on the jerk than the squat, but we were still moving pretty well by the time we were done with all the practice.

The first part of the workout was 12 minutes to find our 1 rep max clean & jerk. I worked with Caleb & Larry and we just alternated… We did 115#, then 135#, and 155# – and I got through those. But as soon as we upped to 165# (Larry made it) I was out of my league. Caleb got up 245# by the time he was done. They did awesome.

Though it’s not quite as separate between the clean and the squat, it’s still sloooow for me. But I’ll get there.

And when that was done, we entered metcon land and ugh… it was not a good one for me.

  • 1 minute of hang squat cleans, 45/25-lb. dumbbells (or 35# or 25# to scale)
  • 1 minute of burpees
  • 1 minute of toes-to-bars
  • 2 minutes of hang squat cleans, dumbbells
  • 2 minutes of burpees
  • 2 minute of toes-to-bars
  • 1 minute of hang squat cleans, dumbbells
  • 1 minute of burpees
  • 1 minute of toes-to-bars

I’m not a huge fan of movements that separate the left and right, whether it be single-arm movements or single-leg movements. Not my thing. So even though it was a hang clean with dumbbells, it wasn’t fun.

20160524_093534I scaled slightly – with 35# kettle bells (the dumbbells were a hot commodity), burpees, and toes-to-bars. Drea wanted us to focus on getting our toes to the bar, not just defaulting to knees to hips or knees to elbows. I can do t2b one at a time, but only for a little while.

Grip was the big part of today. Between the kettle bells and the t2b, my grip was fried. Not sure if was the hook grip from yesterday or just all the cleans and such – but ugh. Not fun.

And neither were the burpees. My shoulders tell me every time there are burpees that they hate me in no uncertain terms. That’s always fun.

Long story short – I didn’t get very far. 67 reps across the three rounds. I was slow on everything across the board. Yay team.

My wife got through 99 reps with 25# dumbbells and knee raises. She did awesome. So did everybody else.

14ozcr

It’s ok. Sometimes I can hang with the big dogs, but metcons are not my cup of tea. My goal as always is just to keep moving. One rep at a time.

I’m going to try and go the next couple of days, then we have stuff going on Friday that will hold us up. And Saturday I have to get some yard work done or I’m going to need a machete soon.

Great work today folks – have a great day and we’ll be back to it tomorrow probably. 🙂

Leave a Reply

