Regionals strike again…

After three days of sitting, it was time to get back into the box. (My youngest played in a soccer tournament all weekend and I didn’t go to the WOD on Friday.) But I wasn’t expecting another workout from regionals!

Arrived for an 8:30 class with Coach Bill today and we had a good group of folks… Sarah, Mike, Ellen, Jenny, Larry, Melissa, Anne, and David joined me. It was an interesting mix of movements and folks today…

martin_Ravzan_power_snatch_146
I look nothing like this guy

We started with a 400m jog, which revealed a dead bull snake (I’m pretty sure it was a bull snake, but didn’t get close enough to look for a rattle) at one end of the regular running course. Someone had run it over, but that was a new feature on the run. We’ve seen deer and rabbits, but no snakes. Then we came back in and did some Cossack squats, PVC pass-thrus, and some snatch balance work before practicing the squat snatch for the first part of the workout…

  • Take 12 minutes to establish a 1RM max snatch (squat snatch)

snatch5It’s been a long time since we’ve done much with snatches, so it was good to warm up a bit. I started with 95# and did a few, then did a couple at 115#, and got 125# off the ground but it didn’t feel right. My one round max for snatch is 145#, but I think that was a hanging snatch or power snatch, definitely not a squat snatch.

So I’ll take 115#.

And then we set up for the metcon of the day… A variation on regional workout #5. 3 rounds for time… This one looked awful on YouTube when we watched the last couple of weekends. There were quite a few people – elite folks – who didn’t finish.

  • 400m run
  • 40 weighted sit-ups
  • 7 deadlifts (405/275#)

I knew the run was going to be the awful part of this one. My left knee was bugging me when I started the first round of 400, so I went at a fast walk for most of it.

Barbell_Deadlift

But I also knew I haven’t tried a 405# deadlift, nor did I want to today. 🙂 I think the two variations they had on the board were 315# and 185# for guys, so I decided I’d go with neither. 🙂 275# was a good weight – heavy, but not so heavy that I couldn’t do it as singles fairly quickly.

As for the weighted sit-ups, quite a few folks went with a plate and I went with a 35# kettle-bell. It was heavy enough I had to break up the reps a bit – I did 20/10/5/5 and that worked out great.

dead-lastWe were shooting for a 16 minute time cap and with my slow run/walk I knew that wasn’t going to happen… But I kept moving and finished in 19:30. Not fast by any stretch, but I finished and Bill said my deadlifts looked great – so I’ll take it. 🙂

Good work everybody at 8:30 – you all killed it. We all scaled to some degree and everybody finished – so that was awesome!!

The 9:30 class looked fun too – Lori & Jordan, Deana & Marino, Monica, Lisa, Andrea, and one or two new folks.  Hopefully

Leave a Reply

